In a Book I Haven’t Read, I Found Permission to Write

February 13, 2024 § 18 Comments

By Jen Gilman Porat

Recently, my newsfeed featured a link to an article from The New Yorker, “Can a Memoir Say Too Much?” Instead of clicking it, my eyes snapped shut as if I’d stumbled across a dead body. The article focused only on Blake Butler’s new book, Molly, but I didn’t know this yet. I feared cancel culture had come for the entire genre.

How could a mere title wound me? It couldn’t. I was primed for defense. I’d been wrestling with the ethical challenges of writing memoir for years.

I stopped writing my book because I’d worried about other people. I didn’t know how to write about a personal journey I hadn’t traveled alone. I feared taking up space that never belonged to me.

When I ditched my pages, I felt like a martyr—what sacrifice could be greater than giving up one’s story?

But I didn’t plan to abandon my book forever or even for this long. What I intended was for a better writer to finish it, preferably some future version of me. I started writing personal essays, thinking the practice would manifest a pristine moral compass. I looked forward to knowing how to embrace the riskiest subjects with zero risk.

Shorter length seemed to guarantee a higher completion rate, but brevity only hastened my arrival to the blurred boundary between self and other. Where did my story end and someone else’s begin? I suspected the only way to locate the ethical line was to cross it, so now, alongside my unfinished book sit unfinished essays.

How would I complete anything amidst so much moral ambiguity ?

Since death promised certainty, I pinned my hope upon it. I didn’t wish to die. I wished to outlive other people. I wanted death to protect me from guilt and potential litigation. I know grief is a more complicated foe than this, but I remained optimistic about all the writing only a funeral can inspire.

Could a memoir say too much? Not if people were dead.

I finally opened my eyes and read The New Yorker article and learned it wasn’t out to destroy memoir. It examined just one book—Butler’s book—but my earlier instinct was partly true: there was a dead body. Butler’s late wife, the poet Molly Brodak, had died of suicide.

My sympathy for Butler extended beyond his loss. If a grieving widower hadn’t earned enough empathy to protect his work from moral scrutiny, what chance did any writer have? If death didn’t grant permission, what did?

While the article, by Alexandra Schwartz, doesn’t pass unequivocal judgment on Butler, it does raise questions. For instance, Butler’s memoir is said to reveal unsavory behavior from Molly, including alleged sexual predation of her students. Since Butler relies on Molly’s private texts and emails, the question follows: Does Butler’s book reach beyond the mutual space of marriage? Apparently, Butler asks the same questions of himself, but does self-awareness overcome trespass?

I thought the details of Molly’s suicide gave Butler permission to write without restraint. In a note left for him, Molly instructs Butler to keep making art. But could someone suicidal give consent? Should Butler have written such a revealing memoir? I didn’t know. I wanted to read the book to find out.

Later that day, I learned of fellow memoirists who’d decided against reading Butler’s book. Since Molly was dead, they reasoned, the writer held all the power—it seemed unfair to reveal disturbing details about Molly, ones she couldn’t disprove from the grave and even if true, were likely due to mental illness. To write about her was to exploit her. To read about her was to exploit her, too.

I rushed to Butler’s defense. Why was I desperate to grant him a permission I couldn’t even grant myself? Not that he needed permission—he’d already published his book. But I felt defensive of his right to do so, and furthermore, my right to read it.

I defended my book purchase with a plan to read Butler’s book as a writer. I even posed questions to guide myself: How does the inclusion of Molly’s texts and emails function in the memoir? Does it increase Butler’s credibility? Or make us dislike him?

I needed Butler’s book in order to understand why I was so deeply affected by it. I felt empathy for his suffering. I also envied his ability to write about it. I intended to witness Butler’s a grief for the sake of self-discovery. I felt despicable.

I became so self-absorbed with my self-absorption, I managed further interrogation of my thoughts:

  • I’m drawn to memoir because it affirms my experience. I find myself in other people’s stories.
  • If memoirists validate others, should we still accuse them of excessive self-interest? If memoirists build connection for others, should we still charge them with trespass?
  • Ultimately, it is the reader who fulfills the memoirist’s redemption. And if the reader performs such a sacred role on behalf of the writer, it follows that the reader also transcends self-interest.
  • Memoir creates a mutual relationship between reader and writer, but since it occurs outside of shared space and time, it’s easy to overlook the genre’s intrinsic generosity.

I concluded that the gift of memoir outweighed its risk.

Shutting down my work never redeemed my obsessive self-interest; if anything, my cowardice was selfish. What good is navel gazing if it never reaches another person? If it never completes its transformation into art?

I’d stalled my work and waited to become flawless. But who would ever find themselves reflected in perfection? What a boring book that would be. I wouldn’t want to read it.

I found permission in Butler’s book—a book I haven’t read yet—because its writer made imperfect choices. Isn’t that what all artists do?

And if Butler could do it, maybe I can too.

________

Jen Gilman Porat’s work has been featured in HuffPost, Longreads, and The Week. She’s currently working on a memoir about the contested adoption of a baby girl already placed in her family’s care. She and her husband refused to fight a biological parent, even though their attorney warned the baby would never return to her biological kin. The ethical uncertainty continues to haunt her. Find her on X (formerly Twitter) @JenGilmanPorat

Tagged: , ,

§ 18 Responses to In a Book I Haven’t Read, I Found Permission to Write

  • Teresa Steel says:

    Awesome awareness throughout this essay, Jen! Bravo.

  • “Could a memoir say too much? Not if people were dead.” But Porat seems to have decided it’s not that simple, not that easy. I haven’t read Butler’s book either, but with any memoir that reveals others’ suffering, the question I wrestle with is: What light does it offer? Revelations of painful truth certainly stir the need to write and might sell books. Is more offered? Does this story offer a truth I am unaware of, does it serve a greater good? And now I sound like a moralist when I mean to serve ethics.

    Perhaps Porat struggles with the a fundamental paradox: Because we can does not mean we should.

    Should we?

    • Jen Gilman Porat says:

      I’m excited that Butler’s backordered book finally arrived this week. After writing this essay, I sure hope it offers more than exploitation.

      Writing this essay helped me realize so much more about my own work—not just in writing—but in my prior career as a psychotherapist. I quit that work because there too I was constantly hyper-aware of the blurred boundary between self and other. It triggered so much anxiety. Now, I wonder if I’d stuck it out and endured some of the negative affect longer, maybe I would’ve overcome the paradox, which I now think is a paradox of intimacy. Whether on the page or in direct human contact, I think deep and meaningful engagement with others (and beyond ourselves) always demands great risk.

      Of course, writing and working as a therapist are not one and the same, but what fascinates me is how the overlapping space between the two practices challenge me in similar ways.

      This time, I’m going to aim for endurance with my writing. I hope I navigate the ethics in a way that reduces harm and optimizes benefit, but I think my personal history of quitting before I arrived is what I need to overcome during my remaining years in this life.

      The good news about being a writer: all the stuff I already quit (being a therapist! A dancer! My future in philosophy!) is great material to write about. Let me know if you end up reading Molly. I’m looking forward to finally sitting down with it this weekend.

      • Memoir, from my view, must to more than offer “more than exploitation.” I have read marvelous and valuable (to me) memoir that explores the writer’s life understanding and a pathway through the mud. Some seem to have nothing more to offer than this terrible thing happened to me, and sometimes that terrible journey not only fails to reveal anything useful to me but fails to identify the obvious ways the writer themself has failed. Self-justification is also appealing sometimes, but I prefer words and insights that are wiser than my own.

  • For eight years I struggled with the question of boundary between my story and someone’s else, including my violent mother who died in the middle of writing my memoir. In the end I first wrote and then expunged all of the incriminating details. It was the only way I could grieve her passing, forgive her, and learn to respect the sacredness of boundaries in real life. Because it honors the source of her pain as much as mine, my memoir is kind. But first I had to write it all down, as you have, Jen, as Butler did, in order to transcend it. I too crossed a boundary in order to see where it lies. Now, the boundaries have never been clearer as my late-in-life empathy muscle grows stronger each day. In writing and in life. May it be so for you. Brava, Jen!

    • Jen Gilman Porat says:

      Thank you, Margaret! And congrats on sticking through it and getting your work and words down. I’m inspired by everyone who does it.

  • Jen Gilman Porat says:

    Thank you!

  • I think the New Yorker piece ended up being a fine review – without really answering the question. And I guess that wasn’t the point. My husband also committed suicide and I wrote about it. Rewriting again and again was cathartic and created distance – that and time. Although the questions will never end. That’s what we’re left with when someone leaves us that way. So many questions with no answers.
    Are we saying too much? Not if people are dead, indeed. I don’t have the constitution (or is it courage) to be able to write about the living. Not if it’s hurtful.
    Onward with yours! And thank you for this piece. So much to think about!

    • Jen Gilman Porat says:

      Thank you for sharing how writing helped you after losing your spouse to suicide. There are some losses too complex to be held in our bodies, and I cannot even begin to imagine processing that kind of haunting loss without the page.

  • smirkpretty says:

    “What I intended was for a better writer to finish it, preferably some future version of me.” Oh indeed, I feel this one hard. Thank you for this post and for asking these tough questions… And continuing to write

  • Eric Walker says:

    2 things:

    1. If you haven’t seen it yet, Patricia Lockwood has a rich account of her friendship with Molly and Blake and her complicated reading of the memoir–it’s in the London Review of Books issue of 25 January 2024

    2. On adoption memoir itself, one of the best readers of adoption writing has a new book coming out from Temple Univ. Press in June: Marianne Novy, Adoption Memoirs: Inside Stories. She covers a lot of ground in adoption writing in the past quarter-century. tupress.temple.edu

    • Jen Gilman Porat says:

      Eric,

      Thank you for both recommendations. I’ve preordered the upcoming book from Novy.

      As for my story, I’m not even sure calling it an adoption memoir, as I have, is appropriate as I am not located anywhere on the adoption triangle. I am not an adoptee, a birth parent, or an adoptive parent (and never was). I may need to change my working title to “This is Not an Adoption Memoir.”

      At this point, I have yet to find anyone writing about adoption from a perspective like mine, so I’m looking forward to exploring Novy’s curation.

      When someone tells me about an adoptive parent in a contested adoption situation, I am quick to point out that in many of these cases, the so-called adoptive parents are not yet adoptive parents. They are often prospective adoptive parents, and our court systems favor them over biological families. I guess I occupied that liminal space—prospective adoptive parent—and maybe I need to claim it loudly, if only to bring awareness to the injustices committed against biological families and adoptees in the name of adoptive parents’ rights.

      Of course, the topic is complicated, and the triangle is not an equilateral one in terms of narrative representation. I grew anxious about offending all three corners—why take up space when adoptees and birth parents continue to be underrepresented in the cultural narrative? And in the world of adoptive parents, I’ve made more enemies than friends—the fact that we refused to fight a biological parent in a contested adoption is a decision that has offended adoptive parents I’ve encountered in writing workshops. And back when I blogged about our situation in real time, the readers who welcomed my work tended to be adoptees and birth parents. So, to proceed with my book is to invite criticism. And with social media, that often means hate. My gut instinct to defend another memoirist overlapped with a fear for my own self.

      But ultimately, any good memoir is not really about the topic itself, but about the writer’s interrogation of the self in dealing with some subject of their experience. I can say my book-length project is about adoption or not about adoption, but really, it’s about making a very high stakes decision without having all the information. Did I make the right decision? The most ethical one? I still don’t know the answer to this and that’s why it continues to haunt me and I must write about it.

      Thanks again for your recommendations—I am already thinking new thoughts due to them!

      —Jen 🙂

  • Nikita says:

    This reminds me of Ti Amo by Hanne Ørstavik, not classified as a memoir per se but a creative nonfiction, loosely based on the author’s own life and experience of living with her husband while he was dying. I think this is how memoirs must be told, if one is tackling the ethical questions of what to reveal about self and others. Ørstavik creates a space for her feelings on the pages and writes with a longing of not being able to tell her dying husband what she experiences of his last days, elegantly treading the boundary between saying all she wants to say about his death and how it affected/ changed her life, but never telling his experiences on behalf of him. And I think that’s beautiful. Originally written in Norwegian and brilliantly translated by Martin Aitken, check it out: https://amzn.to/3T9Z4Ls

  • LyndaDrake says:

    This book beautifully highlights that imperfections in parenting are part of the journey, emphasizing the importance of self-compassion and growth for both parents and children.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading In a Book I Haven’t Read, I Found Permission to Write at The Brevity Blog.

meta