The Man Who Knew Nothing About Memoir

May 17, 2011 § 17 Comments


Three dumb things James Frey said to Oprah yesterday, still defending his memoir which is anything but:

“I thought of it as a statement of defiance. I wrote it without any respect for what is fact, what is fiction.”

“I’m more influenced by artists than writers. Let’s say you look at a cubist self-portrait. It doesn’t look anything like Picasso. So when I was writing the book I was thinking of it like that.”

“I don’t have a lot of respect for memoir.”

Tagged: , ,

§ 17 Responses to The Man Who Knew Nothing About Memoir

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Man Who Knew Nothing About Memoir at BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog.

meta

