Blueberry, Fish, Comma

June 7, 2011 § 10 Comments


We had about 260 visitors to the Brevity blog yesterday, a lowish number because we haven’t posted much in the last few weeks (the quarter is just wrapping up here in academic Ohio), but we did notice that blueberries have been popular, at the Farmer’s Market, and as a search term leading more people to this blog than any other search engine entries.  Odd.  blueberries. Followed by fish and comma.

Who Googles “comma”?

Or for that matter, “Toast”?  Looking for a recipe?

Some years back, Brevity contributor Lori Jakiela had a sharp and witty Modern Love essay in the NY Times mentioning the term “sex chair,” and for a while that was our most popular search term.

Blueberries feel like progress.

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Blueberry, Fish, Comma

  • Faye says:

    I wonder who was searching for “whats (sic) high in the middle and round on both ends.”

  • I’ve been blogging via Switched At Birth since September, 2003. I wondered what the heck was going on yesterday when visitor volume and the search term “switched at birth” went crazy. Found out ABC Family network has a new show called (yep) “Switched At Birth.” The drive-by guests didn’t stay long. Once they discovered I’m an aging southern baby boomer babe who writes mostly about her man, her old dog, and food, rather than a teenager who was actually switched at birth, they were gone.

    p.s. I get hits on “Longleaf pines” and “coyotes” a lot, too. And they say it’s boring out here in the woods.

  • Thedesertrocks says:

    Well I have been trying to place a creative non-fiction piece I wrote about blueberries….This sounds like a good time to do it!

  • Bradley says:

    I named my blog “The Ethical Exhibitionist” after COLLEGE ENGLISH published my article about ethics and nonfiction “The Ethical Exhibitionist’s Agenda.” I thought maybe people who read the article and wanted to continue to discuss it could easily find the blog, and that I’d also write occasionally about life, pop culture, writing, my wife, my family… whatever was going on with me. It turns out I vastly overestimated the number of people who would want to continue to read about an article from COLLEGE ENGLISH, and vastly underestimated the number of people who would use the words “exhibitionist” and “wife” as search terms…

  • Chelsea says:

    Yesterday, someone found my blog with the term ‘I cry a lot at work’–while I was glad I was at least the last result returned (I’ve only said that once, ages ago), I was heartbroken for the person who must have gone through every link trying to find solace or empathy.

  • Tim Elhajj says:

    I want more information on the Sex Chair position. I feel I also have the necessary skills for the Dean of Student Affairs position. Let me know at your earliest convenience!

  • Wasn’t it in my contract that I’d get an enhanced emolument for every person driven to Brevity/this blog because I reviewed The Blueberry Years?

    And who googles “blueberry,” anyway?

    Nonetheless, this we should have foreseen . . .

  • I don’t know how to track words, but my blog so far has gotten the most hits when I made an Emily Dickinson reference. Did she ever write about blueberries? I could work that in if she did.

    The blog name is “Reflections from the Mirror,” but I may change it to “A Fish who eats Blueberries comma comma comma” (I descend from Fish. I eat blueberries voraciously. The commas would be a tip of the hat to Kerouac)

    We should try to float great words out, see if they go viral. Any suggestions?

    I like “mellifluous” (found in Proust), “kerfuffle” (heard Jon Stewart say many times), and my daughter thinks “saucy” is a funny word.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blueberry, Fish, Comma at BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog.

meta

