Immersion Contest Winners

June 17, 2012 § 4 Comments


Houston, we have lift-off, and landing, and three winners for our immersion nonfiction contest celebrating Robin Hemley’s new craft guide, A Field Guide for Immersion Writing: Memoir, Journalism, and Travel.

We were unsure how many would participate — immersion in 500 words sounds like a contradiction if not an impossibility — but we were wrong, as usual, and received 50 splendid entries, all of them surprising and unique.

Immersion, by the way, is defined as involvement in something that completely occupies all the time, energy, or concentration available. Types of immersion writing within these broad categories include: the Reenactment, the Experiment, the Quest, the Investigation, and the Infiltration.

Now Robin has judged, and we have our three winners.  We will debut their winning entries right here on the blog over the coming week.  Stay tuned!

 

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Immersion Contest Winners

  • Lyn Fenwick says:

    Participating in the contest was a win for me, even if I did not win the contest. I am writing a book about a homesteader, and I had visited his homestead and walked and photographed it. But, for my re-enactment immersion experience, I decided to walk Isaac’s route to get his mail. I grew up about a mile from Isaac, a century later, and I roamed roads, tree belts, and fields as a child. Consequently, I feel that I know this land. However, my experience tracing Isaac’s steps to Doc Dix’s soddy rewarded me in unexpected ways, and I really did sense Isaac walking beside me. Thank you for motivating me to do something I might never have made the time to do otherwise. I’m looking forward to readying the winning entries!

  • libbywalkup says:

    Am excited to see them!

  • John Smolinski says:

    Paring my ‘Quest’ immersion story was a challenge and a win in itself! Looking forward to reading the winners.

  • Sugel says:

    Hats off to Patrick Ross ( @PatrickRwrites ) who’s blog The Artist’s Road chronicles his open road quest to live an art-committed life. His AWP post on immersion writing struck home note only because it reported on a panel I was sorry to miss on the final day of AWP Chicago (too many compelling, concurrently scheduled panels!), but because he reflected on a couple of familiar memoir writing/revising challenges.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Immersion Contest Winners at BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog.

meta

