On Being an Inept Blogger

January 13, 2014 § 2 Comments


hairskirtOn her not-so-viral Backhand Blog, Marcia Aldrich discusses the perils and pitfalls of following the standard advice, “Your book is coming out? You should start a blog!”

One of my problems in blogging my book to fame was that it concerned suicide. Need I say more? I think I wrote a compelling book on the subject, but I am not a credentialed expert in the field and did not want to set up shop as one. I am a contrarian, as I’ve said, but it’s not just that—there’s something disturbing about me opining on that ultimate subject. Don’t you see the promotional possibilities? my friends asked. I could become an authority, create a publicity persona, speak  knowledgeably about my insights, give advice. Many writers have carved out a niche for themselves doing just this, and very profitably, I was told. My friends named highly visible writers who were also gifted entrepreneurs. There was just one little problem with this scenario: once the book was finished, I’d rather go all Oedipus on my eyes than say more about that suicide, reliving my friend’s death and the involuntary role I played in it. I’d rather have the book languish on the dustiest shelf in the world emporium of remaindered books if to sell it I had to perform his death over and over. I had done that in writing the book, and it was all I could do.

Read Marcia’s Full Post here

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to On Being an Inept Blogger

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Being an Inept Blogger at BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog.

meta

