Sweet Sounds of the Season by Kerry Kijewski

December 14, 2014 § 1 Comment


The memories continue with another Holiday Smile contest winner:

joyI remember the innocence of childhood during the holidays. Christmas could always make me smile. Although I had more sight back then, I don’t remember how much I could see the excited faces of my siblings or others at such a jolly time of year.

My voice would burst with delight on coming out to the living room to discover a new pink doll house I had wanted. Then my brother began to chatter happily about a new toy from the braille Christmas list he’d painstakingly written out for Santa. He could not see my smile nor I his, but we were both grinning from ear to ear.

A smile isn’t only something visual, to be seen sparkling on a loved one’s face. You can hear it in a person’s voice when they are smiling broadly. The tone of their voice immediately changes and a certain ticking noise can be picked up in their speech. Their voice cracks, as if their cheeks are expanding and they are. It is a feeling that I now sense, although I can no longer spot a grin or a wide smile on the faces of my niece or my nephews.

The boys love Elmo. The two-year-old jabbers on happily and the one-year-old shrieks out, hugging his toy tightly. My niece gleefully examines her brand new art supplies. I do remember how excited I would get at just such a Christmas present when I was her age and colors were still bright.

Although Christmas has lost a little of that remembered innocence and brightness, for me, as an adult, I hear the smiles of the newest generation and I smile too.
___

Kerry Kijewski was born blind, but believes that it is without words that she would truly be in the dark. She has a Certificate of Creative Writing and is working on a novel she wrote for National Novel Writing Month last year. She lives with her literary themed dog Dobby and cat Lumos in Ontario, Canada.

__

We encourage readers to use Amazon Smile to help Brevity pay authors and grow stronger. Continue to purchase books from your local independent bookseller, if you are lucky enough to have one nearby, but please channel other Amazon holiday shopping through the Amazon Smile Brevity Link: (it doesn’t cost you a cent) and we get a few pennies on every purchase. You can bookmark the link and make it your permanent Amazon entryway, which would really make us smile

§ One Response to Sweet Sounds of the Season by Kerry Kijewski

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Sounds of the Season by Kerry Kijewski at BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog.

meta

