How to Start a Podcast

December 16, 2015 § 14 Comments


Listening-Recording-DeviceTesting…testing…is this thing on?

Around the Brevity editorial room, we’re rolling up the legs of our dungarees and stepping gingerly into the whirlpool of podcasts. It’s been in the works for a while–we’ve been listening to our favorites with a new ear, making notes on what makes them great.

There are some terrific resources out there for beginning podcasters:

As Social Media Editor, I’ve been wanting to do a podcast–any podcast–for a few years now, but haven’t had the critical convergence of time, desire, topic and support. And here it is.

Armed with four years of research/procrastination, I’ve tested out Call Recorder for Skype. I’ve sent emails to my nonfiction heroes (check your inbox!) and tweeted for more suggestions. I’ve ordered acoustic panels, a Rode Podcaster USB mic, pop shield and shock mount. The acoustic panels are particularly important–I live in Dubai, where all houses have tile floors and hard surfaces abound.

But I had to mail all those things to the USA…

I get to pick them up in January (thanks, Mom!). Meanwhile, I present to you: Studio B.

StudioB

 

Note the acoustic deadening effect of two duvets (who the heck needs a duvet in the desert? Now they’re useful) and a yoga mat. I’ll be doing my best with my Macbook Pro’s microphone, and backup recording on my end with a Tascam DR-07 MK II. I still have to check whether noise-cancelling headphones are going to screw anything up.

We’ll be releasing a monthly podcast beginning in January, each one featuring readings from the magazine (past and upcoming) and an interview with a noted nonfiction practitioner. We hope you’ll subscribe. And in the comments, please let us know whose voice you’re dying to hear!

___________________________________________

Allison Williams is Brevity‘s Social Media Editor.

Tagged: , ,

§ 14 Responses to How to Start a Podcast

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to Start a Podcast at BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog.

meta

