The Essayist’s Life: Open and Free

July 7, 2016 § 3 Comments


Julija Šukys has posted an excellent interview with essayist Patrick Madden on the occasion of his latest collection, Sublime Physick, from University of Nebraska Press.  Here is Madden explaining how he came to love the essay form:

madden-683x1024.jpeg

Patrick Madden Pondering the Essay Form

Gradually I realized that I loved to think wildly, without restraint, flitting from one subject of interest to the next as the spirit moved me. And eventually I discovered or decided that writing essays could be a way to keep my life open and free, to study what subjects inspired me for as long as they inspired me, and then move on. So I came to the essay knowingly, intentionally, and with great hopes. I think now that I was naïve, but also very lucky, so that my life has worked out to be what I had hoped for.

You can and really should read the entire interview on her blog, Writing. Life.

§ 3 Responses to The Essayist’s Life: Open and Free

  • Jan Priddy says:

    “So I came to the essay knowingly, intentionally, and with great hopes. I think now that I was naïve, but also very lucky, so that my life has worked out to be what I had hoped for.” Fiction came to me later in life, but my history as an essayist begins in childhood, cheerfully arguing at the dinner table with my family. I wonder now why it took me so long to see myself that way. Patrick Madden seems to have gotten it right.

  • ananyabasu says:

    nice

  • Little Voice says:

    Glad you introduced him to me. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Essayist’s Life: Open and Free at BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog.

meta

