My Tender, Tender Writer’s Skin

February 14, 2024 § 13 Comments

By Mary Hannah Terzino

“I feel as if I am walking on eggshells with your writing,” one of my closest friends texted. She’d just read a flash piece I’d written. More precisely, she’d just read a flash piece I’d written in a retreat that included professional writers, where it was discussed through two iterations; revised; reviewed again separately by the two writer friends who read most of my work; revised; workshopped with my local writers’ group; revised again; submitted to a well-known journal; and published.

She’d read the piece in the online journal. Her first text had told me she enjoyed it. But wait! She had more to say. It featured a transgender teen who did not use gendered pronouns, and “it took me until halfway through to sort out who ‘they’ was.” She also offered that “the old guy is a bit too predictable, both in appearance and type.” I protested that I hadn’t asked for a critique. “I felt like I should offer some feedback,” she replied, before mentioning those eggshells. She was an English major, she reminded me. That was over 50 years ago, I reminded her.

I don’t know about you other folks out there writing about guys who are a bit too predictable, but the time I seek feedback is before I publish something. I prefer the non-randomness of asking for it, and I have a roster of trusted people I consult. I like feedback that serves a purpose: to help me make the essay or story better. If I’m lucky enough to have my current manuscript published and reviewed by actual critics, that control will go by the wayside, of course, but that’s a different kettle of fish.

I don’t ask my close nonwriting friends, as a general rule. Once something has been published, I use social media to tell my world, and if people click the link, that’s great. I get some nice comments, some hearts and thumbs up which may or may not signal that someone read the thing I wrote, and a modest uptick appears in my website analytics.

Readers, of course, have every right not to like my stuff, or to find things within a story or essay with which they take issue. If my friend were a stranger posting her comments on my Instagram or Facebook page, I might have a momentary, tiny fit of pique, but unsolicited negative comments from a dear friend feel icky in an entirely different way.

I confess I wanted her to walk on eggshells, not bound over them heedlessly to bridge the friend/critic divide. I wanted her to tell me she liked what she read or admired my writing, even if she didn’t completely mean it, and leave it at that, the way we tell friends their wedding dress was stunning even if it wasn’t, or the complicated dessert they labored over was delicious even if it was dry, or their kid’s performance in the middle school musical was delightful even if it hurt your ears a little. Because handing over your writing to a very good friend feels that personal. Is this lying? It shouldn’t be. By the time my close friends read my stuff, it’s been thoroughly vetted. And if telling me they like it is lying, that’s okay. This is my newborn. My close friends shouldn’t assume it’s their job to tell me the baby is ugly.

Even so, it was probably wrong to feel gleeful when I notified my dear friend that the piece she’d critiqued had been nominated for a “Best of” anthology. But my feelings are my feelings.

I exempt from this message dear friends who are writers. Many men, women, and people who use the pronoun “they” have bridged the friend/critic divide purposefully. Many are on my reader roster. They populate my writing groups, workshops, retreats, and in one case, a thrice-yearly dinner at Tosi’s restaurant. I adore them and am grateful for the fierceness of both their friendship and their occasionally eggshell-crushing critiques. As for the rest of my pals: Test my tender, tender skin before you stick the needle in.

____

Mary Hannah Terzino has published her prose in The Forge Literary Magazine, Lumiere Review, Quartz Literary, MacQueen’s Quinterly, Pithead Chapel, and Hypertext Review, among other places. Her flash fiction story “Wall at the Back Garden” was a finalist in 2023 for the Larry Brown Short Story Prize, and another flash piece has been nominated for the 2024 Best Small Fictions anthology. Her essays on the writing life have appeared in Brevity’s Nonfiction Blog since 2021. In 2024 she is beginning a hybrid personal essay/fiction project focused on her hometown of La Porte, Indiana. Currently she lives overlooking the Kalamazoo River in Saugatuck, Michigan, where she sings in a community chorus and recently co-wrote the lyrics to a holiday choral piece which premiered in December at Saugatuck Center for the Arts.

Tagged:

§ 13 Responses to My Tender, Tender Writer’s Skin

  • Aw, Mary, thank you so much for candidly naming it all: the little child in each of us that just wants to be adored. The grown up in each of us that knows without criticism it’s unlikely our work becomes worthy of the adoration we crave. I was tickled to read you also sing and compose lyrics. I’ve done that too–written lyrics for my choir to sing in front of an audience. And felt the warm glow of “critical acclaim” on several levels. First, the choir has to like singing your words (mine has balked at some of my clever tongue-twisters, hard to sing; come on, you guys, just sing it). Then the audience has to adore your cleverness. Usually they’re polite–they would never tell you your baby is ugly to your face. And that’s just fine.

  • Since I have a grandchild who is a they/them but I am also a former high school and college English teacher and also a writer, you must know your friend revealed more about themselves by admitting confusion about pronouns than about your story. Confusion? Fine. Admitting it and suggesting it’s a problem in the writing? Not your problem these days. Language changes. I still struggle with “snuck” but would only mention it as a source of humor.

    • Mary Terzino says:

      Thanks for your comment! I struggle with “mentee” instead of “protege” but it’s in all the dictionaries now. Language changes, but there’s a certain constancy to deep friendship that should not. It isn’t about being adored; it’s about being supported.

  • Polly Hansen says:

    I once critiqued a story a writer colleague sent me for comments. I was mistaken. He was sending me a story of his that won a competition. Boy, did I feel stupid.

  • I love this delightful piece. I havn’t had a friend do that yet, but when someone says they ordered your book and you hear nothing else about it, months later, don’t you wish they’d say something? Not anything, of course, but like you say, don’t tell me my baby is ugly. Say she’s got cute little feet.

  • Kelly Turner says:

    Dear Mary, Gosh I love this piece. I don’t love that your feelings were hurt. I do wish many of us human sat with our thoughts a little longer before we pecked them into our phones and beamed them out to the world.

    Recently, I found (and binged) Nina Badzin’s podcast about friendship. I appreciated the episode with Ruchi Koval in which Ruchi discusses choosing the value of Peace over the value of Truth in certain interactions. It turns out a non-zero amount of my soul’s work on this planet is figuring out the Peace / Truth balance.

    I agree with Eileen above – adore the baby feet! A beloved writing teacher agrees with your stance on feedback – it is best well-timed and useful. When the work is out in the world, the only thing left for us to do is cheer the author on.

    Thank you for this post.

    • Thanks for a lovely comment and the podcast reference. I love the value of Peace in deep friendship. There is a place for the Value of Truth, but perhaps not here. And truly, because this was and is a deep friendship, my feelings recovered. Remember, as a writer I am making a point.

  • Nina Badzin says:

    Mary! I related to this so much. A few things to say.

    I am the friendship podcaster Kelly referenced. Thanks Kelly for the mention!! I loved that episode with Ruchi. It’s #73 from sept 2023 if you’re looking for it. My podcast is called Dear Nina: Conversations About Friendship. It started as a friendship column– a writing beat I landed on 10 years ago and never left.

    I’ve also had a piece here in Brevity. That has nothing to do with this topic, but wanted to mention it. 😉

    Now onto the matter at hand–a family member listened to my podcast for the first time two years after I started it. She then gave me a tremendous amount of unsolicited feedback. It was a mile long text, out of nowhere, full of issues she had starting with THE WAY I SPEAK, to some of the content, to the guest pitching her book and social accounts–which this close-to-me person found “cheap” and “sales pitchy.” She also found it “icky” that I told people where to find me on social media in the episode.

    Listen, I’m not Ezra Klein, but I’ve some big guests and I’ve been at this a while. I wasn’t looking for her tips.

    When I let her know how condescending I found her feedback, she was offended that I didn’t value her point of view. This, despite the fact that she knows zero things about podcasting and isn’t even a podcast listener. I’m the one who taught her how to download the app on Apple.

    Alas, this is all just to say that I completely get where you’re coming from that you’re open to feedback, but from the right people at the right time. I’m glad you wrote this piece so that others, like me, could commiserate. We’ve got your back!

  • Thanks for weighing in! It’s affirming to know others have had this experience. Best wishes to you!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Tender, Tender Writer’s Skin at The Brevity Blog.

meta