Why I Write to Timed Prompts

June 18, 2024 § 11 Comments

By Barbara Krasner

During my MFA years, I prayed that each graduate and faculty lecture I attended wouldn’t require real-time writing. I needed time and space to think, after all. If speakers offered prompts, I doodled instead.

But after earning my MFA in 2006, I didn’t, couldn’t, write for a year. I felt completely burned out, especially from a workshop where my writing was torn apart by peers jockeying for position with the instructor. Everyone’s writing limped along as sacrificial lambs, not just mine.

Then someone I knew from my hometown invited me to a session of the Amherst Writers & Artists (AWA) method. We met in a member’s fourth floor apartment in a city walkup, sat in comfy chairs, sipped on water, and wrote in lined notebooks to the facilitator’s timed prompts. The facilitator wrote along with us. She gave us a prompt to write about our writing space. What, a prompt? No way. But then images filled my mind’s eye. I wrote what I saw. The words flowed from my pen and my shoulders relaxed, my breathing grew easier, even after a full day’s work at a job I hated. These two and a half hours were for me. This was my time.

I don’t recall now all the exact prompts from that first night, but I do remember thinking as I drove home, “I wrote an essay today. I wrote an essay today.”

Fast forward nearly twenty years. I am still writing with that group, although since COVID we’ve gone online with Zoom. One night last summer we received a prompt to write about a car experience with a specific vantage point. I had just come back from Europe and thought about the taxi ride I took in the Brussels suburb of Anderlecht to trace the steps of a friend who’d been a hidden child during World War II. Now with the prompt, I thought about my backseat position, and that gave me the necessary angle I needed for the essay, later published in Collateral Journal. Over the years, I’ve penned and published essays, novels in verse, poetry, and fiction with the help of my AWA prompt sessions.

In 2013, I earned my certification as an AWA facilitator. I lead workshops in Writing the Past and Writing Family History. I engage as a participant in other groups: one, for instance, focuses on long form. We’ve been writing together every Friday night for three years.

Why this method works for me:

  1. The prompts surprise me into writing from perspectives my left brain hadn’t considered. It’s a space where I can experiment with form and content.
  2. There’s no commitment to long writing periods. Most prompts are to write for 20 minutes or less. That’s enough time to enter the cave and come back out relatively unscathed.
  3. There’s no hierarchy. The leaders also write.
  4. When we read aloud, which is optional, feedback (also optional) can only respond to what’s memorable, striking. No negativity. That was a welcome change from the traditional workshop.

This month is the annual AWA fundraiser with plenty of opportunities to write. I’ve an idea for an essay about my paperhanger grandfather and I’m looking forward to prompts to help put the narrative on the page in unexpected ways. Maybe even a hermit crab essay. I’ll see where the prompts take me.
__
Barbara Krasner’s writing explores social justice and displacement. She is the author of three novels in verse for young readers, and numerous essays, short stories, and poems that have appeared in Cimarron Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, Consequence, Nimrod, and elsewhere. She holds an MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and a PhD in Holocaust & Genocide Studies from Gratz College. She lives and teaches in New Jersey. Visit her website at www.barbarakrasner.com.

Tagged: ,

§ 11 Responses to Why I Write to Timed Prompts

  • Rose says:

    Writing torn to shreds by peers? Been there. Done that. Crushed me as well. I did get back in the writing saddle, but I lost a lot of time. That’s why I’m not keen on writing groups.

  • Judy Reeves says:

    Thanks for this one, Barbara. Though not an Amherst Writer, I have been a student and admirer of Pat Schneider’s method since I read her first book all those years ago.

    As for me, I’ve been doing free-writing to timed prompts for decades and have been leading and writing in writing practice groups since the early 90s. Like you, I’ve written so many flash stories and essays, poems, bits and pieces of novels and memoirs and filled so many notebooks I can’t keep track. And I’m going to keep doing it until they make me stop.

    Thanks for telling your story about the benefits of timed prompts and spontaneous writing.

    • Thanks so much, Judy! I appreciate your commitment, and, yes, now I feel like I’ve committed to a writing “practice.” Not everything I write will result in a polished manuscript.

  • Freewriting is a way to press past intention and tap into chaos. I always think chaos is a good thing when generating work.

    I wrote 8-12 minute freewrites with my students beginning in 1990. I warned students not to strangle their pen, that their fingers might hurt if they squeezed too tightly. We started with a triggering phrase and went off that. Some triggers I used over and over. Others just appeared. But I warned: “Write whatever you think you heard—it doesn’t matter if you heard it wrong.” Pen on paper. No pausing or correcting, but you can rewrite, repeat yourself, or change topics in mid-sentence. If you’re stuck, that’s what you write: “I’m stuck I’m stuck I’m stuck.” I once wrote “oatmeal” over and over for three lines until I thought “cookies!” and went from there. When the timer went off, we counted words and aimed for 200 or more words in 10 minutes. Some students could write over 400 words; I rarely passed 350. Freewriting taught us something else: we could write a paragraph in less than half an hour.

    If I was lucky, my freewrite contained something weird or put words together in unexpected combinations. Both my students and I mined our own writings for other writing. Sometimes we’d pull the beginning of a poem out of a freewrite.

    When I struggled to write about my dad and his death and how I missed him, I set the timer for 30 minutes and wrote on my computer. I went all over the place, but I also was able to write about my father.

    • Thanks for sharing this, Jan. I felt like I was in the classroom with you. I, too, have used freewriting in the classroom to help students recognize they can create meaningful words in short bursts and don’t have to wait to block out hours of time.

  • scotta741a0c396 says:

    I write my own prompts through the day as I’m doing other things. As thoughts come to me, I write them down in the notes app of my iPhone. It’s not just a list of topics, it’s a list of viewpoints, inspirations, my own angle on an idea that I want to remember. If I don’t write it down, I lose that special view I have, the message that is mine only. Later I read that prompt and fall back into the grove of what I was feeling. Then I write. It works for me. Just picking a topic doesn’t work for me. I have to have experienced it in some way.

    • Scott, love this! It takes an observant eye to find prompts everywhere. It is that “special view” you speak of that makes prompts so effective. Where might I find your work?

      • scotta741a0c396 says:

        Thank you for your interest, Barbara. Many of my selections were posted on the National Association of Memoir Writers FB group, but the Admins archived the group and started over. So I’ve started my own group on FB, but I’m still populating it. Let’s connect on FB first. I’ll friend you, and PM you. Sorry for the nuisance this has caused.

        • Scott Berglin
  • daviddobson672 says:

    Timed workshop writing prompts work. Why? Because too many writers who attend these workshops are lazy and lack motivation. What’s the point of going to workshops where too few have anything to contribute?

    • David, to what “workshops” do you refer? A wise editor once told me: “The best judge of your work is…you. You know what is working and what isn’t, if you’re really honest with yourself.” I have come to believe this wholeheartedly.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why I Write to Timed Prompts at The Brevity Blog.

meta