Ned’s Head

March 28, 2012 § 1 Comment

Over at Writerhead, Kristin Bair O’Keeffe interviews Ned Stuckey-French about the inner workings of an essayist ‘s brain:

Much of the time, however, my writerhead is trying to think about what I really think, what I really believe. I am an essayist and so skepticism is where I live. I turn things over constantly. I am constantly watching myself, listening to myself. A part of me is always sitting in the press box of my own game, doing play-by-play and color commentary. It started when I was a kid shooting baskets in the driveway. 3 – 2 – 1… French stops, pops. It’s good!

But if am skeptical and questioning, I am also hopeful. I’m a very political person and believe in possibility of progress …. So, in my writerhead, I’m constantly refining my position, questioning myself, and others, and trying to figure out what makes sense and is convincing. Is that fair? Is this what I think? I am always, always turning such questions over in my head. They are my version of Montaigne’s Que sais-je?, or What do I know?

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Ned’s Head

  • Amy says:

    Ned’s head is very entertaining…love the image of E.B. White at the New Yorker office. I also really enjoy the Writerhead blog, and getting a little dose of inspiration from an author every Wednesday

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ned’s Head at The Brevity Blog.

meta