I Wanted To Be A Writer

May 20, 2024 § 31 Comments

By Abigail Thomas

When I was sixteen, I wanted to be deep, whatever that was, but it sounded interesting and nothing about me felt the least bit interesting. One night I struggled to write a poem about the tree in Washington Square outside my bedroom window. Unfortunately, I had no deep feelings about the tree. It was familiar, like a pal, I liked looking at it, that was all, and alas, you can’t invent deep feelings, at least not at sixteen. I remember two embarrassing lines, “and then the tears come/ softly at first…”and thank god that’s all I recall.

A few years later, when I was nineteen or twenty, I really wanted to be a writer. The closest I came was bopping around my kitchen whenever Paperback Writer came on the radio. If I wanted it badly enough maybe I would turn into a writer. But how? Magic? Writers were different. They knew things I didn’t know, important things, they had deep feelings and different lives. What did I know? Nothing of value. Nothing that rhymed, no secrets. Could a poem be made out of unmatched socks? The crunch of celery? Placemats? I knew babies and grocery lists and laundry, and I knew longing. But for what? I didn’t know. I still don’t.

When I tried writing stories, I would look at the few sentences I’d put down, crumple the paper up, and toss it into the wastebasket. Who did I think I was? I would try again, from time to time, always with the same result. Who do you think you are?

And then one day, many years later, I was in the White Mountains, a young man’s head asleep in my lap. For an entire week I had been simply a blonde-headed woman in a pickup whose bumper sticker read TOO CUTE TO STAY HOME. I had no details, no four kids, no two divorces, nothing. And I had a thought. Maybe it’s like making your first pie crust. It won’t be a success, but make another, and another, and eventually, you’ll make a good one. Maybe it’s the same thing with writing, I thought. It won’t work the first time, but keep at it. Keep at it and you will get better.

When I got home, I started again. But instead of crumpling the pages up, I sat in a different chair and tried again, using different angles, different voices, different everythings. I worked hard. By the end of the day, I had written a story. It got published. I was forty-eight. Now I’m eighty-two. And I’ve been writing ever since.

The great thing about writing is that nothing is wasted. You might have to write 20 pages to find your first real line. You might have to write 200 pages. You might have to find that pickup truck. But those pages may take you where the story really starts, and then you’re off and running.
____

Abigail Thomas has four children, twelve grandchildren, 2 great- grandchildren, eleven books and a high school education. 

Tagged: ,

§ 31 Responses to I Wanted To Be A Writer

  • lauriehertzel says:

    Oh, how I love Abigail Thomas! So happy to read this this morning.

  • […] I Wanted To Be A Writer […]

  • kaplan2721 says:

    Countless fans are beyond glad you kept at it, Abby. Your writing is so honest, vivid, and moving that it’s hard to believe you weren’t born knowing how it’s done. Inspiring for us all that it took hard work, tenacity, and courage for you, as for us all.

  • I loved this. I needed this. Thank you!

  • Rose says:

    Fabulous! The lesson we should take heed of, which is, keep going. Too bad I didn’t do that, and “dropped out” from writing for about 20 years. But I’m back.

  • Polly Hansen says:

    This gives me hope for the query letter I’m trying to write. For my memoir. So much dreck. Looking for those golden few lines.

  • wjswift15 says:

    thank you for this bit of inspiration!

  • Marin says:

    Lovely. Inspiring. Thank you.

  • sbarnett99comcastnet says:

    I am 83 and I still trying to be a better writer. Thanks for that inspiring piece.

  • lmhackett says:

    What a writer you are! I’m 72 and just getting serious about writing. Abby, please continue to write and publish . You’re an inspiration! Thank you.

    • abbythomas1941gmailcom says:

      Thank you, But to get serious about writing at 72 is inspiring to me. Don’t ever stop.

  • kelkorbs says:

    Thank you Abigail Thomas for giving me hope and inspiration today — and for your wonderful books

  • Judy Reeves says:

    Thanks for this Abby. You are always such a great teacher and inspiration. Me: I knew it at 8; I got serious about it at 48. I’m 81…still serious, but not taking myself so seriously. Thanks for this one. I love your “bio” at the end of this essay. Another subtext-y loaded inspiration.

    • abbythomas1941gmailcom says:

      Thank you, and I love that you noticed the bio. (Now I’m trying to remember taking myself seriously.) I started at 48 too. Not a bad age.

  • bethbonness says:

    Can’t help but smile on your path. You’ve got grit as my grandmother Lila would have said. A tenacious, “nobody’s going to get in my way once I decide to do something and I’m not afraid to fall down and get dirty.” F

    For so long, my sense of writers was they were high up on a pedestal of my admiration. How could I ever imagine reaching up there? I didn’t take into consideration all the groundwork, the time, the willingness to be rejected and reworking pieces writers went through. I thought if I was a good writer it would happen without so much investment, the alternative – I didn’t have enough talent. I’m persistent, resilient, and not afraid of hard work — you inspire me to be myself and just keep trying. Thank you Abigail.

    • abbythomas1941gmailcom says:

      Oh most definitely be yourself and keep writing. Writers get rejected all the time. I certainly do. Thank you for your kind words.

  • I’m 80, and I remember that longing, that “wanting to be a writer” from age 7, so different from actually writing and being a writer. I was 64 when my first novel was published. I would have loved to live on Washington Square at 16. I had to take the subway from Queens every Sunday to hang out there. My parents lived on Christopher Street in the 40s but moved because they thought the Village was no place to bring up kids. Maybe I would have had something to write about earlier…but probably not. We know nothing until we get older.

  • michelleredo says:

    I’m 56 and still hoping to be a writer. I’ve got plenty of pages, maybe a first line, and I also will say I make a pretty darn good pie crust. (And no matter how many times I do it, it never comes out the same… extrapolate that as you will!)

  • BJ says:

    Thank you for sharing your words with us! Always.

  • Thanks for being a great role model for us older folks. I am 82 and still have so much more I want to write. I look forward to reading more from you.

  • Annie keshi says:

    That is inspiring. I love writing

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Wanted To Be A Writer at The Brevity Blog.

meta