The Writing Group: A Fable

September 14, 2023 § 66 Comments

By Lea Page

The usual five gathered around a table at a local restaurant: Novelist, Historian, and Fabulist—all men—and Poet and Memoirist—both women. Living in a small town in a wide-open state, the pool was limited. How lucky they were, the capable five, to have found each other.

On this day, however, the Historian brought a friend who introduced himself as an autobiographer, not a memoirist. In direct contravention of the rules, the Autobiographer launched into an attack on memoir in general and memoir writers, specifically. The three men jumped on board this disparagement train with winks, nods, and chuckles: “Oh, those memoirists. Always making stuff up!”

The Memoirist took a deep breath and explained the rigor and constraints of the genre.

Then the readings began. The Autobiographer read first. The memoirist went next and was accused of making things up. It had been suggested to her, once, that she present her story as a novel. Not plausible as fiction, she had replied. Then it was the Poet’s turn. Her poem was about the death of her mother.

Before the Poet even looked up from reading, the Autobiographer said, “What makes that a poem and not an essay?”

The Poet stammered, “I wrote it in verse.”

The Memoirist mentioned rhythm, imagery, and white space, anything to push back on the Autobiographer, who will, from now on, be known as the Asshole.

Later, the Memoirist realized it wasn’t the behavior of the Asshole that was robbing her of sleep but the silence of the three other men, who knew the Poet and the Memoirist, who had professed their respect but then so eagerly jumped on board with the Asshole.

After days of thought, tooth-grinding, and distraction from her own work, the Memoirist decided to let the men know she was disappointed. Sure, she could just walk away, but the nearest alternative to this writing group was over at least one mountain pass. She composed an email noting the missed opportunity for the men to speak up. She concluded by restating her esteem for the group and her desire for it to continue as a supportive place. She pushed send.

The Historian responded and said he was sorry the Memoirist had felt upset, that he cared because she was a valued member of the group. He then carefully laid out all the reasons why the Asshole’s comments were not upsetting.

The Poet confirmed that she, too, had been disturbed by the Asshole’s behavior.

The Novelist said he had been uncomfortable but hadn’t noticed any gendered problems.

The Fabulist said he hadn’t noticed any gendered slights—most likely, he admitted, because of his gender.

The Memoirist sat with these responses, then composed a second email. She wrote:

This is a learning opportunity. Until we live in a better world, assume there’s a gender dynamic in mixed groups. It’s rare when a woman doesn’t have to deal with behavior on a scale from obnoxious to deadly. Then she has to decide whether or not to push back. Most of the time, the woman just swallows it.

Raising the issue is risky. She’s often met with one of these responses:

            1. “You are overreacting.”  

            2. “He was just _________.”

            3. “I didn’t see/hear/notice/experience that, therefore it didn’t happen.”

            4. “Can’t we just move on?”

Being a woman in this world is exhausting.

The Memoirist paused to take several deep breathes. Then she continued:

After the meeting, the Poet and I shared an eyeroll together. Then we went home to recover. The eyeroll was a great help. It said: “I saw what happened. You didn’t deserve it. What a jerk.”

It meant: validation, support, solidarity. It would’ve meant a lot to share that with you. We still can!

The world will not progress without good guys stepping up. That’s you.

How to step up:

            First: do no further harm (avoid the 4 responses above).

            Second: pay more attention.

            Third: if you do notice something, say something, even if it’s just an eyeroll.

The Memoirist pressed send.

No response.

She had offered the men an easy way out, a face-saving communal eyeroll, a way to address what had passed without talking about it. At the next meeting, the Poet was out of town and the Memoirist was still exhausted. She didn’t go. Instead, she worked in her garden where the garlic was burgeoning and the peas weren’t. Gophers had munched the seeds before they had a chance to sprout. The Memoirist was disappointed—she loved peas—but gophers had to eat, too. There was no point in expecting anything else from them.

___

Lea Page’s work, nominated for Best of the Net and Pushcart prizes, has appeared in or is forthcoming in The Guardian, The Washington Post, The Rumpus, River Teeth, Sweet, North Dakota Quarterly, and more. She is also the author of Parenting in the Here and Now (Floris Books, 2015). She is an assistant editor for creative nonfiction at Pithead Chapel and lives in rural Montana with her husband and a small circus of semi-domesticated animals.

Tagged: , ,

§ 66 Responses to The Writing Group: A Fable

  • marjieal says:

    Gophers gonna gopher.
    Nice piece. Thank you.

  • Stacey says:

    You’re definitely not alone.

    I observed this dynamic play out with the additional insult of excessive praise for a piece that needed a ton of revision. The extolled piece was written by an “autobiographer.”

  • Lynette Lamp says:

    Oh, my word. The asshole was really an asshole. I hope the poet and memoirist go on to form their own group. No assholes allowed.

  • Oh, yes. Thank you for this, sincerely, deeply, absolutely. You offered a gracious alternative to being jerks and they declined to rise above themselves. Fools. In my 70s now, I have been largely invisible for decades; my disappointment is not unique, your disappointment is not unique. Claiming otherwise is craven denial.

  • I’m a yoga teacher and a memoirist. Yoga (specifically the wisdom of the Bhagavad Gita) teaches us to let go of outcome. Memoir is about having the courage to speak the truth. Lea, I love how you’ve done both. Definitely exhausting. As for gender, when was it ever not the case that women do all the heavy lifting? I recognize your muscles. They are magnificent. One question about the imposter-asshole, the autobiographer. Will he be voted off the island or can the group both save him and hold him accountable? That’s more than a one-woman, one-person job. The only thing more fragile than an individual person is the fragility of the group, and clearly this group was not up to the job. The gophers will eat the peas. Margaret Mandell

  • Amanda Le Rougetel says:

    What a beautifully written, brilliant fable. Let the gophers eat the peas, Lea. You just keep writing.

    • Amanda Le Rougetel says:

      On reflection, I wonder if my initial comment seems flippant or dismissive. That is absolutely not my intention. Women’s experience in this world *is* gendered — too often for the worse. The day that the majority of men step up for change cannot come soon enough.

      • leagpage says:

        Not at all, Amanda! I took it as humor and solidarity. And humor is really the best way I know of to manage this stuff. It allows in the awareness, but sloughs off the trauma. I am only grateful for your encouragement. ❤

  • Timothy Kenny says:

    Thoughtful, well written and frighteningly accurate. Thank you for a wonderful piece of writing/thinking. Made my day.

  • I love this, but I sure wish I didn’t have to.

  • nagneberg48 says:

    Brilliant!!!!!!!! (I know the use of exclamation marks is a mark of amateurism, but I just needed to keep punching the keyboard.)

  • Judy Reeves says:

    YES!!! You hit it. Thanks for writing this. Your responses to the men in the group was perfect. You’re speaking for all of us.

  • Wow. You brilliantly captured the tension, the heartache, and the fatigue. Now I need to retreat to recover too! My hat’s off to you for your courage and your mastery of craft. Here’s hoping your guy friends come through yet. Until then, hugs and high fives, sister. Get ’em

  • youngv2015 says:

    This made me laugh and tear up. And it’s wonderfully written!

  • karenar518 says:

    Mercy. Will anything ever change? Well written; clear message. Blessings on the journey.

  • marilyn801 says:

    THIS IS BEAUTIFUL and perfectly describes my own experiences; I was warned about groups by both of my parents, who believed that creativity was as private an enterprise as using the toilet – best done alone without observation. I was never comfortable with collective collaboration, i.e. being in the same room at the same time – best we each go to our private spot to create and then meet up afterwards, to hone and fine-tune together. I had the same experience in group therapy… if I’m gonna get all emotionally naked and vulnerable, I don’t wanna be in a CROWD!! That “we’re all one big happy family” dynamic is a lot of what messed me up in the first place! 😟

  • equipsblog says:

    I have a feeling this is very real. If not it could be but really shouldn’t be. I get so freaking tired of being overlooked, shut out, having no response but a man reiterating what I said 10 minutes later as if it were an original thought and having other men receive it enthusiastically. 😠

  • Thank you so much for writing this! This attack on memoir is non-stop…remembering, here, when the late James Wolcott labeled memoirists “navel gazers,” claiming the genre is “a big earnest blob of me-first sensibility” way back in 1997 (Vanity Fair, Oct. 1997). Seems we all still need to keep defending it. So thank you for doing just that!

  • outsiderart says:

    Fabulous fable (and written not by the fabulist). And spot on, overall. But I have been in a similarly configured group where something comparable happened and when one of the men started to push back against the man doing the disparaging, the woman who was the target shot back with “I don’t need you to defend me.” Why-didn’t-you-speak-up cuts more than one way. Sadly.
    As for memoirists, I’d like to see Asshole face down (allusion notwithstanding) Thoreau, Thackeray, Sassoon, Kingston, Didion, and Angelou. More power to you (and us), memoirists and poets.
    Thank you for writing, for your writing!

    • leagpage says:

      There are nuances that a fable could not address, but yes, there can be blowback for stepping up. One must learn to read the room. And one can be burned for stepping in—the rage of women who have lost patience is a possible outcome. We all pay a price for patriarchy. I suggest to err on the side of stepping up.

  • ariadne30 says:

    I love this! It rings so true. Thank you for writing and sharing it! I like peas too. And I’m grinning right now.

  • Sandra says:

    Brava! Stay strong and true to your craft! Loved this.

  • Joanne says:

    This is so perfect. Thank you for writing it. So smart, so spot on, and so wise.

  • Tommie Ann Bower says:

    Your experience is a great example of the problems with male privilege. Privilege remains invisible to the cardholder but not to the beholder. It is sustained by both deafness and silence. Thank you for breaking the silence. There is a second piece of the puzzle of why these behaviors persist–that is the gap between knowing and doing. You have filled that gap with suggestions. When we dig a bit deeper into what sustains privilege, we see the foundational belief and operating manual that the receiver of the behaviors has asked or deserved it. These justifications are seeded everywhere, and this is not news. You deserved this behavior because you assumed a right to join the privileged in taking up the air in room. Assumed you could write what you want and be respected is the equivalent of wear what you want and be safe. It is not uncommon for women to unconsciously join in the speculation that the woman must have incited the attack behavior. Shifting the focus from the behavior of the privileged to the recipient of the abuse is a foundational tactic in sustaining privilege. It hurts, it’s an outrage and one that I am often ill prepared to address. These #trashthenon-male events often take me aback and leave me speechless. Even as I write this, I am fighting off the troll thoughts I learned from the privileged–I’m being too passionate about this, my words are not good enough, not pithy enough. So I first have to address my internalized troll thoughts in order to stand more firmly in my right to be un-silenced. This is best done with another human. Recently I’ve noticed another attempt at silencing women’s voices, and that is the conclusion that there are now too many trauma stories, too many #metoo stories, too many #girlovercomes stories. The short corrective answer is, how many #metoowar or #metooboyhood stories are there? The other answer is t we have many tragedies, perpetrated not by mother nature but by deliberate intentional privileged harm. So thank you for opening the #maleprivilege door, and hopefully you have encouraged more voices to address privilege. And really a huge thanks to the BREVITY EDITORS for putting this up! Signed, #NotShuttingUpAboutIt…..

  • Kim Costigan says:

    I started a writing group a few months ago, each of us is writing memoir or poetry. There are just four women right now, even though I also invited a couple of men. They haven’t come to any of our weekly gatherings yet. I can’t say I am disappointed by their absence. This was beautifully written. Thank you. I see you!

  • Assholes should be told to put a sock in it.

  • Lisa Rizzo says:

    So sorry for your experience. Unfortunately, it’s all too prevalent. I’ve been in many writing groups, and only one with 3 men and 3 women. I never experienced serious gender bias from the men but maybe because we were all poets. Although I know there are some spectacularly misogynist male poets out there.

  • Judy says:

    Writing groups in the past included both men and women, and the tensions during the critique periods were high. The writing group I belong to now is all women. While the genres are across the board — no two writers share the same genre, the solidarity and support is amazing. Plus we broaden our understandings of writing memoirs, historical nonfictions, dark fantasies, mysteries, and other genres.

  • So powerful in shorter form. Love the last line!

  • Wow! You have a lot of responses here, and I see why.

    I have long suspected that men can find memoir unsettling or ‘not real writing’. So this makes me press on with greater wisdom and more awareness. Thanks.

  • Anniqua Rana says:

    So relatable in life in general. Love it.

  • I feel like I commissioned this blog post – it just happened exactly this way. The conundrum is sharing it with the three men in the group. The eye rollers can’t decide. Risky if we want the group to continue: one eye roller doesn’t care and one does.

  • Sally Showalter says:

    Admire how you laid this experience out on the page to tell the truth of it all, and the missing of it all of you know who’s. Great job.

  • Sally says:

    How do I hold two opposing thoughts: I loved this essay, and yet the familiarity of the situation made me deeply sad. The beauty of the writing and the disappointment in male friends and the reality of living in a world filled with… with… I believe I can quote here: with “Asshole[s].” You captured it all.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Writing Group: A Fable at The Brevity Blog.

meta