The Sto Po: A Hypothetical Rant Against the Knee Jerk Content Constabulary

February 8, 2024 § 37 Comments

By Marjie Alonso

Recently I posted to a Facebook group for fellow writers:

Would anyone be willing to be a beta reader and review the first draft of my book about my trip through White Sands National Park, New Mexico, when I was abducted by aliens?

Everyone in the group where I posted this request is a writer. As writers, we all need readers for first drafts. We’re all citizens of the same literary community. I have read people’s drafts in this way, and, while this was the first time I’d asked for readers, I was expecting a few helpful volunteers.

People I didn’t know responded, but not the way I was expecting.

Arizona Alice: I’m not sure if you know this, but many New Mexicans think this is better not written about.

GALaxy: I can’t believe someone referring to the differently-planeted as “aliens” is considering writing about this. The first thing you should ask for is sensitivity readers.

SolsticeSue: There are a lot of differently-planeted beings who think only differently-planeted beings should write about this topic.

Sensei-tivity: I’ve included a link to the Facebook group “People Abducted by Aliens While Traveling Through White Sands National Park in New Mexico.” I suggest you join and go listen to people there for a few months before writing so you can understand this phenomenon.

AreaFiftyOneFrank: You need to spend time listening to abductees.

I spent years working in animal behavior, so I understand the Premack Principle. It states that if high-probability, more desirable behaviors are made contingent upon lower-probability, less desirable behaviors, then the lower-probability behaviors are more likely to occur.

I sat in front of my keyboard and read each comment.

Instead of responding, I ate an M&M.

Is there anyone, I wondered, who listens less than people who tell people to listen?

Then I questioned if I was being unfair. You can’t listen if you don’t ask any questions.

But did they need to know my background and connection to the subject at hand to either ignore my post, or offer to be a reader?

Perhaps some. It would be annoying to spend time reading the words of an uninformed hack.

They’d have learned about my level of understanding and more if they’d reviewed my work, though given how they were responding, what would they have been reading it for, exactly? To find fault? To question my right to write it? To challenge my point of view?

Yes, questions of authority and point of view are valid when reading someone’s manuscript. As fellow writers, we need to help each other to stretch our perceptions and understandings. Writer-readers can help us with our perspective in a way that “civilian readers” may not, and that’s valuable.

But that’s different from story policing.

I texted a friend.

Me: I just didn’t use the C word.

Friend: OMG. Censurer?

Me: Yup. Also control freak, criticaster, and carper. And self-centerer. And cacophonous virtue signaler.

Friend: Jesus. How many M&Ms do you have left?

As writers (and readers) we’re often exposed to subjects and conversations we find controversial, and about which we have strong opinions and feelings: heritage, religion, sexual abuse, loss, death, love, and family.

Taylor Swift. Alien Abduction. Stuff like that.

We’re usually exposed to those topics by people with strong ties to the subject looking for feedback and creative betterment. They’re being brave when they ask. It takes guts for a person to put themself out there and absorb the opinions of friends and strangers whose observations and convictions might well differ from their own. 

These people are not usually asking for brainless praise or vapid encouragement, and we tend not to give it. But on the other side of the empty cheerleading coin lies didactic pontificating.

Imagine asking for review of an important piece you’d just written, and the response is people arguing your right to write it.

Other people’s mothers were kind, so how dare you write about an abusive mother! It dishonors all the kind mothers doing their best.

I don’t see color — why are you writing about racism in America? Don’t you think it destroys us to keep pointing out only our flaws?

When you write about addiction you shame people simply enjoying wine at dinner, along with my Italian heritage as a vintner.

The sorts of responses I’ve invented for the hypothetical beta reader query above aren’t from people responding as fellow writers—and aren’t helpful. They ask no questions, assume someone writing an entire book about a subject lacks fundamental understanding about it, and offer advice without review.

They are responding as the Knee Jerk Content Constabulary

They are the Story Police (or Sto Po as I like to call them), pulling writers over, profiling them for writing about a sensitive topic without a license awarded by a registry of strangers.

“You need to listen.”

Perhaps what we all need to do is read before we criticize, do some listening ourselves before we demand it of others, and ask questions before we prescribe remedies.

May I suggest a large bag of M&Ms?
__

Marjie Alonso is a former executive director of small international nonprofits, where she promoted evidence-based education, developed professional standards, and acted as a “civilian-to-scientist” facilitator in all things animal behavior and training. Recently retired, she now writes full-time, which means spending her days telling the stories she loves to tell. Find more of Marjie on her Substack, Pieces of String Too Small to Use.

Tagged: , ,

§ 37 Responses to The Sto Po: A Hypothetical Rant Against the Knee Jerk Content Constabulary

  • jengilmanporatc1132643e4 says:

    I love this. I eat M&Ms too, mostly to prevent myself from pelting them at the story police. And my “aliens” are ghosts. Accusation: Appropriating the dead. Defense: They haunted me first.

  • Marjie, please, please, please submit this to Shout & Murmurs in The New Yorker. I can’t remember the last time I laughed so hard. From the truth of it all.

  • tpspatrick says:

    You just made my day, Marjie. I am going to soooo enjoy using the term “differently planeted”. Lovely writing.

  • “How many M&Ms do you have left?” I am with you! If I tried the M&M response to anxiety, I would have gone through the bag.

    I asked for a Muslim reader for two chapters of a novel from Muslim viewpoints. [I wanted to be sure I was both accurate and respectful, especially about one character.] I had been inactive on Facebook for years so I asked on LinkedIn. Fortunately a former student connected me with his former student and that worked perfectly. Later, I found a Korean reader through Facebook for another character. So far, no one has chewed me out for writing a book with international characters… but I did fear it would happen. It probably will happen eventually. And that’s not even counting that I killed off most of the human race in the first chapter.

    Before I ask for beta readers, I need a bag of candy.

  • marjieal says:

    Oh I’ll find it! Thank you!

  • kaplan2721 says:

    Thank you for presenting a controversial topic with such humour and for having the courage to bring it up at all. The political correctness police are filled with grievance and always hunting for faults. It’s vital to be sensitive to others, but perhaps the pendulum has swung too far and will return to a place of thoughtfulness and sanity.

    • marjieal says:

      I think of it more as judgment than political correctness. I think it’s crucial to be sensitive and aware, as you say, and to learn to be so isn’t always comfortable. But many people skip that step themselves when demanding it of others.

      • kaplan2721 says:

        “Many people skip that step themselves when demanding it of others” – absolutely. Well put.

  • clpauwels says:

    Adding M&Ms – and bourbon – to my shopping list. Thank you for tackling this subject…and the aliens!

  • lauraleap says:

    Thank you for writing this piece! I’ve been pulled over by the Sto Po and it put me in the ditch (LOVE “Sto Po” by the way).

    It happened at a workshop by a person I respected. It felt like having my clothes ripped off.

    I’ve been trying to find out which type of writers are eating all the M&Ms, but I think it’s all of us.

    The piece I shared was fiction.

    But made up stories are real now, and everything every character says is also real. And it MUST be the author’s LIVED experience —even the villain with the knife and hand grenade who kills the protagonist. And the killer lives in Canada, and I’ve never thrown hand grenades, killed people, or lived in Canada.

    But I’ve eaten my share of M&Ms, by golly.

    • marjieal says:

      I am also for hire as a revenge artist, as I’m never going to pay my bills as a writer…

      I’m so sorry that happened to you. Let me hand you a brand new, gorgeous robe to put on, and we’ll go together down the road aware that the Sto Po are more Keystone than keynote when it comes to the writing community.

  • sonyaewan says:

    You had me at “White Sands.” (I moved from NM in 2020.) Thanks for this; loved it. Pretty sure I’ll get the wrath about dishonoring mothers after my memoir is published. Glad you have clarity: recognizing the power of M&Ms and continuing to write!

  • Judy says:

    Thanks for this. What a treat–the humor and the M&Ms. I have found myself a little hesitant writing about my character who is blind. Your delightful take down of the Sto Po gives me perspective again.

    PS. Have you ever tossed a handful of M&Ms into a bowl of popcorn still warm from the popping? Yum!

  • pennyleisch says:

    I love this blog. There is a huge lack of critical thinking skills out there. Critical thinking requires one to read or listen and think about all sides and digest content before reacting. Sure, we all react to headlines sometimes and don’t take time to dig for more information, but it would be nice if people slowed down long enough to give each other that courtesy.

  • Pauline says:

    This is great, Marjie. Thanks for writing so humorously about this annoying phenomenon. Sad but true, lots of people out there, including so-called fellow writers, love to give their opinions without thought or consideration.

    • marjieal says:

      I’m reminded, as I frequently am, of the great Tom Lehrer quote, “Some people don’ love their fellow man, and I HATE people like that!”

      The things we do in the name of sensitivity… sigh.

  • I think eating M&M’s and continuing to write are the best solutions. I’m so glad I found this post today.

  • Connie Wieneke says:

    Right on! This happens so much. Thank you.

  • For those comments, there aren’t enough M&Ms in the Milkey Way.

  • Lisa Rizzo says:

    Very thought provoking.

  • charwilkins75 says:

    Marjie, loved your examples, especially the one about kind mothers-that was a good laugh. This is my favorite line: Instead of responding, I ate an M&M. I think we should all do more just not responding[–not spend energy taking in crap, chewin’ on it, and spitting it back. I’m all in for Take what Works, and Toss the Rest. Except hold on to those M&Ms! Great piece!

  • Moo Bishop says:

    Um, *I’ll* be your beta reader!

  • Patricia says:

    Great piece, Marjie. I so enjoy your insightful writing and your wit. 

    Unfortunately, you lost me at “hypothetical”. What a let-down! I was eagerly anticipating your alien abduction tale.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Sto Po: A Hypothetical Rant Against the Knee Jerk Content Constabulary at The Brevity Blog.

meta