Wait—Did That Really Happen?

February 21, 2024 § 8 Comments

By Amy Roost

“Nothing has really happened until it has been described.” ~Virginia Woolf

Surely everyone knows the feeling of having experienced something so disconcerting or shocking they ask themselves, Did that really happen? But that’s not what Woolf was referring to. She was emphasizing the describing not the happening.

She was referring to trauma, her own. Specifically, the sexual assault she endured.

I too suffered sexual abuse by my older brother, and for decades I’d described it to no one. The events, isolated in my memory for so long, faded like the dates on a tombstone. I began to imagine I’d imagined it all.

Finally, driving the I-5 south of Seattle, wipers swatting raindrops, my boys both asleep in the backseat, I found the words to tell my abuse story to one person, my other brother. Much to my surprise, he was able to confirm everything that had begun to fade…because he’d been forced to watch.

At last, a hand and a handle to hold.

Words are to memory as breath is to life. In fact, psychologists specializing in trauma have confirmed what Woolf knew experientially: the act of speaking and/or writing about trauma can help the victim heal. Recording the trauma gives it life. Only what’s living can die. Once trauma is alive on the page, we can kill it, like a rat in the kitchen. Once we kill it, we transform from victim to survivor.

Validated, I began to write. Little by little, I described to a broader audience what happened to me as a child, and, later, as a woman. What my brother did. What the nanny did. What the salon owner did. What the co-ed who gave me a ride home from the bar did. What my mother and father didn’t do. What the police didn’t do. What I didn’t do because I knew the police would do nothing.

The more I revealed, the more readers praised me for my honesty, for being “authentic” and “brave.” I began to think of myself this way too. I went from being what had happened to me to being what I did about it.

Not to suggest the journey has been without hiccups. One editor who read a pseudonymous essay I’d submitted responded, simply, Yikes! I interpreted her response not as a rejection—though it was— but as constructive feedback. Her reaction implied that what I’d written was too much for her and, by extension, the reader. I proceeded to restructure the essay from a breathless narrative of brutality to a collage essay that gave the reader more space to take in my story.

Now that I’ve described my abuse and my abusers from every conceivable angle, I’m brushing my hands, packing my tools and moving on; there’s nothing left for me to discover at this excavation site. RIP to the slice of my story upon which so many personal essays dwelled. Like Whitman, I contain multitudes.

Time to write about another me.

___

Amy Roost lives in Bellingham, WA, with her son and grand-boxer. She dabbles in stand-up comedy, runs an estate sale business, and resists being defined by the worst things that have happened to her and the worst mistakes she’s made.

Tagged: ,

§ 8 Responses to Wait—Did That Really Happen?

  • My dear multitudinous Amy Roost, words are to memory as breath is to life. I could have stopped right there and cogitated on that one all day. Can I tell you, when I got to the part about brushing your hands, picking up your tools, and moving on, nothing left to discover at this excavation site, I was smiling, cheering for you and your happy ending/beginning. Because you found the words. Everyone can.

  • joelletamraz says:

    A beautiful, empowering piece about bringing words to trauma. A testimony that it takes just one person who really hears you to help you find freedom. I’m so happy that you found a way to excavate your experience and not let it define you.

  • karenar518 says:

    Well done. Of course, i eould like to read it and many people might want to share their stories. It could be a book!

  • In my freshman year at the University of Washington, I briefly lived in the back bedroom of a house shared with an engineering student and the manager at my part time job. I was woken by the crying of a young child in a neighboring house begging someone to leave her alone and let her sleep.

    I called the police who referred me to the public health nurse. I called the police back again and again. Night after night. I walked around the block in the rain and confronted the man myself in the middle of the night. The police eventually came but accomplished nothing.

    Then I was sick and that flu lead inevitably to pneumonia and I moved out of that house and returned to my parents’. Did those events only happen when I began to write about them?

    Today, the police might come the first time I called. There would have been something done. Times and laws have changed… but all those untested rape kits, so not enough change. Not yet.

    I told my story in fiction. I gave it a better ending. Does all this telling heal me? Does telling about rape on the playground heal me? The driver of the car offering a ride. The man in the theater. Perhaps telling is only a step in that direction.

    As you say, it was a long process for you. I wish you well, and I congratulate your journey, your success and healing. [Even so, I’m not so certain of your certainty about what Woolf meant. Forgive me for doubting; I have finally contracted Covid and my judgement is perhaps not what it should be.]

  • kathycsinc says:

    Thank you for sharing yourself and your story; for opening the door for other women to do the same. You’ve not just healed, but become a healer. Like you, I’ve written about my trauma and grief for years now. Like you, it’s time for me to move on. Here’s to our fulfilling, trauma-free next chapters!

  • chatonjan says:

    Amy

    What a powerful piece. I am so happy you have been able to lay your demons to rest. ‘Once trauma is alive on the page we can kill it.” Brilliant.

    Jan

  • This is a great piece. I’m so glad you wrote about your experiences and have taken the power away from them. Writing about trauma gives you control when you didn’t have any before. I’m sorry for the experiences, but so happy you have “killed it”.

  • “Only what’s living can die. Once trauma is alive on the page, we can kill it, like a rat in the kitchen.” Brilliant. TY for this.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wait—Did That Really Happen? at The Brevity Blog.

meta