Generational Wealth

July 14, 2023 § 30 Comments

By Katy Goforth

After I hit 40, my relationships started to change. I’d heard this can happen, but I thought it was one of those things that people over 40 said to people under 40. Turns out I was wrong. I also started to understand that the dynamic between me and my parents was shifting.

They were getting older—slower and softer. Neither was bad necessarily, but it was different. I was growing more sentimental. What didn’t change was my special connection to my dad.

Growing up, I loved what he loved because I wanted to have his constant attention. Ric Flair wrestling for the championship belt? I was by his side. Baseball at the historic Duncan Park Stadium? I was seated beside him. He was a long-haul trucker his entire working life. When I moved away to college, one of his routes came right by an exit on the interstate that I wasn’t far from. He would often stop just to grin and say, “How you been doing, darlin’?”

I never moved back to the place I called home, but my sister did. She bought a house ten doors down from my parents. My dad walks every morning, and his route goes by her house. He waits on her in the driveway, letting one of the rescue cats flop around and bat at his walking stick. During these walks, he talks, and she listens.

Their walking route ends at his house. Early morning darkness is still holding on, so he often drives her the short distance home because he worries she will somehow get hit by a car without his supervision. Once home, she messages me whatever story he’s weaved that morning.

“Daddy and Earl Moline were guarding missile silos in Cheyenne. Their camper was rammed by buffalo one morning. They thought a missile had gone off. Finally got the buffalo wrangled.”

These are the types of messages I would wake up to. And then I would write.

At first, I didn’t know why I was writing. It was something I couldn’t not do. My husband calls me a sprinter. I get a story on paper quickly. Then I sit with it, debating its merits. Slowing down to chip away at it and see how it ages.

It didn’t take many stories relayed from my sister for me to realize I was trying to preserve my dad. Find another way to spend time with him.

I know he won’t be with me forever, and I was desperately trying to find a way to keep his voice. I was in a work meeting one morning and a phrase kept knocking around in my brain.

“Daddy was a diesel ghost.”

I doodled it on the top of the meeting agenda in the hopes I could concentrate on work. But it kept picking at me and sneaking in. When I was able to sit down and get something on paper, it hit me. I write, so I won’t forget the people I love. I write, so the people I love won’t forget that I love them.

My dad is a storyteller. His dad was a storyteller. Now I am a storyteller too. As I get older, I find myself almost desperate to save these stories. Make sure they live on long past all of us. It’s our generational wealth. It’s what we are leaving for those who will be here long after us. For those we may never even know, but they will know us. They will know us through these stories.

My dad weaves his way into everything I write. He’s always present. I think he feels our connection through my writing as well. He has a three-ring binder where he keeps a printed copy of anything I’ve published. The last time I visited he sheepishly told me he needed a three-hole punch because he had a few stories that were loosely secured to the binder with a paper clip.

The difficult part of my dad having such a close connection to my writing is rejection. Editors are going to reject pieces that connect me to my family. Rejecting our generational wealth—what we’ve accumulated to leave with others. But it’s part of the process, and you move through it. Some stings more than others, but pieces tend to find the right homes.

I recently had a prose collection selected for publication. If I’m being honest, it’s not something I saw happening for myself. Whether or not it’s true, I feel like an outsider to the writing community. I know I’m not alone in that feeling.

The stories in this collection weave my tale of growing up in Upstate South Carolina as a kid of working-class parents. Many of these stories began as those nuggets from my dad. He turned 80 this year. We celebrated with a tasty nacho bar and fancy cupcakes. He held up the 8 and the 0 candle from his cupcake and said, “I’ve gotta hold on to 2025, so I can see that book of yours, darlin’.” It was the first time we’ve both acknowledged what we’re doing, passing the family tales, our wealth, down from generation to generation.

_________________
Katy Goforth is a writer and editor for a national engineering and surveying organization and a fiction editor for Identity Theory. Her writing has appeared in The Dead Mule School, Reckon Review, Cowboy Jamboree, Salvation South, and elsewhere. She has a prose collection forthcoming with Belle Point Press (2025). She was born and raised in South Carolina and lives with her spouse and two pups, Finn and Betty Anne. You can find her on Twitter and katygoforth.com.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 30 Responses to Generational Wealth

  • Rose says:

    How sweet. Lovely story about your Dad and your connection to him.

  • charlene2020 says:

    It’s hard to put life, real life, into pages.

    You have and are an amazing writer.

    Thank you for sharing your father with us.

    • Katy says:

      Thank you so much. And it is so hard. Feels so risky. But when you can connect with even one person, it’s worth it.

      • camilla sanderson says:

        “But when you can connect with even one person, it’s worth it.” I so needed to read these words today. Thank you✨🌟💖🙏🕊️

  • Mita Patel says:

    There is nothing like dad stories and dad humour! It’s natural that you’re trying to preserve them and share the wisdom with others. I can relate to feeling like an outsider in the writing community, I wonder if it ever goes away!

  • mesomari says:

    Thank you Kathy, You comforted my self worth and blessed my writings with your honesty by sharing love of your memories with esp. those with your dad. I am 76 and have a daughter too, she’s the most precious gift God could have granted me and I’m sure your dad feels the same about his girls.

    You’re right, this is our legacy; to record our lives for others to connect and weave into their lives.

    I love the photo btw, You bare feet (nice), a loyal white furry friend always at your side, the worn-from-love chair on the old-fashioned front porch and the summer of bliss beyond.

  • pandandrum says:

    This is one of my favorite pieces of yours (from great wealth, indeed), so thanks for sharing something that comes from so deep in your bones. We Daddy’s Girls know the emotion fully.

  • Nancy McGlasson says:

    Nice! I love the concept of family stories being the generational wealth. Will share your piece with my family and know they’ll get it too. Thanks and keep on going and congrats on your book!

    • Katy says:

      Thank you for sharing it and for the congrats! I really feel like it’s one of the most valuable things we can keep passing down through generations—our stories.

      • Nancy McGlasson says:

        Absolutely agree with you! I’m a storyteller, too. So was my Dad. So was my Grandmom. And others in the family. Part of the reason I write is ALWAYS for my family. When I forwarded your piece to them, I encouraged them to consider writing their stories, too. I can’t cover everyone’s, and they would tell them best because they are the stories THEY know and tell again and again, or maybe wish they could tell (and finally tell). So again, thanks, Katy. And by the way, your name is just the best!

  • This was highly enjoyable. Thanks for sharing.

  • joelletamraz says:

    Beautiful, inspiring piece!

  • dkzody says:

    I love how you keep your dad’s stories alive, and in doing so, he will always live on.

    • Katy says:

      It started as a way to communicate with him without being able to see him in 2020. I kept going with it, and I’m so glad I did.

  • A wonderful essay, Katy! It’s so important to preserve our family stories. xo

  • Judy Reeves says:

    As a girl who loved her daddy like that, I connected with your wonderful essay. My memoir is dedicated to my dad who was the first to open the world to me through his WWII atlas…I got to take the trips he didn’t. He, too, was a story-telling. Thank you for this essay and congratulations on your upcoming publication.

  • Gary says:

    We are all made up of stories. Telling and writing them is a gift we can give to others now and for years to come. Celebrate life with storytelling and sharing.
    Thank, Katy, for inspiring us to keep on sharing.

  • I love the idea of stories being generational wealth, and your blog is beautiful written. Your words, “It’s our generational wealth. It’s what we are leaving for those who will be here long after us. For those we may never even know, but they will know us. They will know us through these stories,” encourage me to share my story. I’ve just completed a book-length, coming-of-age memoir which may or may not be publishable, but it is valuable nonetheless. Thanks for your wisdom and beautiful words.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Generational Wealth at The Brevity Blog.

meta