How I Lost 265,000 Words in Two Years

August 14, 2023 § 33 Comments

By Margaret Mandell

No before and after pictures needed here.

But I did have to write 300,000 words to get to my 35,000-word memoir. Those words were the stuff of my life, my heart, my rage, and my grief after the death of my husband of 45 years. I wrote to Herb every day for four years and the writing saved me. I told myself I had written a memoir. But it was not. It was a bloated tome.

I needed help. It would take two coaches and two more years.

My first coach understood that within my letters dwelled a powerful love story. She taught me to show, not tell, my story through tightly written scene.

Take your 1,000-word chapter and give me 400 words, she’d say.

I had written a long rambling, clinical account of the night my husband died, chronicling details about IVs and intubation, sleep-deprived residents, respiratory therapists and ICU nurses, palliative care and advanced directives, Pulse-Ox monitors and EKGs, antibiotics, and morphine. All I really needed to say was how it felt to walk out of the hospital after his last breath, his ear still warm against my lips as I whispered good-bye.

You died on a Tuesday.

I went home and crawled into your side of the bed.

Friday, at your synagogue funeral, I clung to our children and stared at the floor.

Friday night, a blizzard dumped twenty-two inches of snow on Philadelphia.

Saturday, we shoveled the front walk without you.

I was learning how to say less and more at the same time.  

My second coach taught me the difference between narrative and epistolary form. She said many of my letters were not letters at all—that I had been using my dead husband as a pretext to write a diary, a sermon, a rant.

Write your back flap copy to discover the beating heart of your story, she said. Three, four sentences max.

In And Always One More Time, Margaret Mandell, newly widowed, cannot conjure a future without her husband of forty-five years. Filled with longing, chased by memory, Mandell begins to write letters to the man she loved, retracing their history together. But when a tenderhearted college professor steps quietly into her life, when he listens, attentively, as Mandell reads her accumulating stack of letters out loud, she is forced to recalibrate her vision of life—what is still possible, what is still necessary, how much love one heart can hold.

There it was, so much clearer than it had been before: my memoir wouldn’t just be about what had happened in my life. It would be about what I had learned, and was learning still, about how one woman can love two men—one gone, and one recently emerged. Everything that did not somehow support the story—my childhood struggles with food, my difficulties with my father, long asides about yoga—would now go.

Sometimes, my coach said I was rushing to summarize the story’s big events—telling what happened without letting the reader inside. I’d written, for example, a quick report on my daughter’s wedding, which takes place when I am a new widow.

I just paid the balance due for Lydia’s wedding…She wants me to pick up box lunches for the bridesmaids and deliver them to the hotel…The ceremony will be at 5 pm.  

I now relived the event in memory so that I could capture it on the page—not just the facts but the feelings.

My girl has just slipped away. Into the arms of a gentle soul with great tattoos. Once cherished by her dad, she belongs to Jake now. We were never the same, child of my body, bone of my bone. But I’ve done my job and I watch from the sidelines, where I belong, as they dance into the night.

I kept losing words. Finding new ones, fewer words that said more. My words moved around the page. Disappeared and reappeared somewhere else, looking completely different. My story kept enlarging as the number of pages decreased. But it was more than that. My life changed, too. That tenderhearted college professor became a larger part of the story—off the page and on it. Now I thought I was writing a love letter to him.

I love sleeping next to your body, vibrating imperceptibly. I love cooking for you. Clean, pure, nutritious, delicious, beautiful food. I love watching you devour my meals with gusto.

Nope, you’re just writing about yourself, my second coach said. When what was really needed, she suggested, was writing that illuminated the man himself:

You who are never bored. You who have no forethought of grief. You who refuse to die with the music still inside you. You who have loved me back to life.

Page by page, 265,000 of my shedded words wound up on the cutting room floor. I visit them from time to time. I can see ones that might be resurrected for a new story down the road. I blow them a kiss and thank them for their service. I’ll be back, I say.

I return to my 35,000-word memoir. I realize that as the writing changed, so did I. Less bloat, more revelation, above all to myself. In my epilogue I write a final letter to Herb four days after marrying John: “I think you would like the person I’ve become.”

______________

Darwin once wrote survival of the fittest means survival of the most adaptable. Margaret Mandell’s life story is one of adaptation to changing circumstances. She has been a college teacher and doctoral candidate, an entrepreneur, an independent school admissions director, a triathlete, and a certified yoga instructor. When her husband of many years passed away, she became a widow, a woman still in the midst of becoming. Her debut memoir, And Always One More Time, tells the story of her next act and new, sustaining love. Excerpts have appeared in The Metaworker Literary Magazine.

Tagged: , ,

§ 33 Responses to How I Lost 265,000 Words in Two Years

  • Jessica Errico says:

    Delightfully written! A treat for this Monday morning. Thank you for sharing in such a clever way. Brings back memories of nine years ago when I wrote my memoir, The Mother Gap: A Daughter’s Search for Connection. Blessings!

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Thank you, Jessica. I love the title of your memoir. Ah, mothers and daughters. No shortage of writing material there! My memoir is mostly about two men but lo and behold, there’s a mother-daughter thing seeping in even here. One chapter is titled “A Daughter Again” about the death of my mother, and anther chapter is titled “A Mother Again” about being mother-of-the-bride at my daughter’s wedding. And this story isn’t even supposed to be about mothers and daughters! But there they are. There we are. Inescapable.

  • JennieWrites says:

    Thanks for sharing your story about becoming a widow and then finding love again, and how through the process of editing your letters you rediscovered yourself and your writing.

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Thank YOU, Jennie, for so succinctly stating what I tried so hard to convey in my essay. Thanks for reading it and taking time to respond. Margaret

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Jennie, thank YOU for so succinctly describing what I tried so hard to convey in the essay. You truly understand what was going on for me in the writing process, how writing imitates life and life imitates writing. Margaret

  • Karen says:

    Beautiful. Your writing, even with just these few words, made me cry tears of sadness and joy.

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Karen, thanks for peering into my heart as I have just peered into yours. How lovely to connect through the Brevity Blog! Margaret

  • camilla sanderson says:

    beautiful writing showing a transformative and poignantly beautiful journey. Thank you for showing the before and after writing, I particularly loved this:

    I love sleeping next to your body, vibrating imperceptibly. I love cooking for you. Clean, pure, nutritious, delicious, beautiful food. I love watching you devour my meals with gusto.

    Nope, you’re just writing about yourself, my second coach said. When what was really needed, she suggested, was writing that illuminated the man himself:

    You who are never bored. You who have no forethought of grief. You who refuse to die with the music still inside you. You who have loved me back to life.

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Camilla, I’ll let you in on a little secret. Yes, I’ve been blessed with two extraordinary writing coaches, and yes, I’ve listened to them carefully. When my second coach pointed out that my love letter to my boyfriend was about me, not him, and I tore it up and started over just focusing on him, those new words became my vows for our wedding day, to which he replied “I have never felt so seen.” As a writer I had to get out of my own way to truly see him, and it was my astute coach who pushed me hard to do that. In real life I became a better wife, a better person. Writing does that! Camilla, thank you for your appreciative responses. Margaret

      • camilla sanderson says:

        Awww, “…those new words became my vows for our wedding day, to which he replied “I have never felt so seen.”” brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for letting me in on a little secret🧚‍♀️🤸‍♀️🌼🌷🌈🌺🪷💕☀️😎💃🕺☯️🥰✨🌟💖🙏🕊️

  • Amanda Le Rougetel says:

    A moving story of transformation beautifully told. Thank you.

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Thank you for taking the time to be moved, Amanda, and for sharing your reaction. I appreciate the affirmation! Margaret

  • dianemr says:

    This is so instructive. In just a few words—your goal!—you’ve demonstrated a useful lesson. I’ve taken hour-long online classes that attempt to convey what you have shown here in this small space. And while you were doing that, you’ve told us a tender story. Thank you, Margaret. I’d love to read your whole memoir. Is that possible?

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Dear dianemr: Thank you for your kind words. My memoir is a completed manuscript, currently a Word file in the process of being published. I am hoping the book will be out sometime in 2024, but you are welcome to read the manuscript now if you keep it to yourself. Perhaps we can communicate on LinkedIn? linkedin.com/in/margaret-mandell-83449116

  • Sharon Silver says:

    Oh, this is beautiful.

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Dear Sharon: It is a pleasure to share my heart with such an appreciative reader. Thank you! Margaret

  • Judy Reeves says:

    The whole process of going from there to here (as Abigail Thomas says), you’ve given us…and beautifully, both in describing the process and the words themselves. Thank you. My memoir went from 199,000 to 90,000. I’m wondering about only 35,000 for a “book” though. Did you write fragments as illustrated in your post? Do I have to wait until it’s published (2024?) to see what you’ve done?

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Judy, I so appreciate your questioning why my “book” is so short. It is! About half as long as a typical memoir. Some of my beta readers have read it in a single sitting not unlike George Saunders’s Congratulations, By the Way. My writing coach feels that it’s exactly the right length for telling this particular story, and that more digressions would detract. Just 35,000 potent and swift moving words. Not fragments, 21 chapters of story that span 7 years of my 72-year-long life beginning with the death of my husband and ending with a wedding, told in letters to both men and also narrative. I’d be so honored to have you read the manuscript and tell me what you think. It’s a Word file. Love your quote from Abigail Thomas! Well I just plain love Abigail. Who Doesn’t?Thanks so much, Judy, for your thoughtful feedback. Margaret

  • kristenmoeller says:

    I love this so much. Thank you for sharing your process and your journey.

  • NYOCW says:

    Best title! 😂🏆

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Thank you, NYOCW. I had to walk a line with that one. Hope it was “subtle” enough….LOL Margaret

  • Rose says:

    I too, think 35,000 words is not long enough for a book. And I also think, why should that be the case? Why do we have to go for 70,000 words (or so) when the story is finished at 35,000? I wish more publishers would consider shorter books, as they would be cheaper to print, and I think a lot of stories (not just memoirs) could do with being put on a “word diet”. Personally, my memoir came out at about 40,000 words, but I’ve had to add to it for it to be considered publishable. I don’t think it improved it at all. But then, I always write short. Goodness knows if or when it will ever see the light of day.

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Wow, Rose, that is so interesting, this business of length. I am certain your book will “see the light of day” whenever someone wise discovers its Goldilocks size. Mine, too. Because I’m going to keep going until someone either appreciates it for what it is or makes a compelling case for me to write more (not just for the number of pages) because the story itself is wanting. I think not, though. Thanks for this food for thought. Margaret

      • Rose says:

        Thanks Margaret. If nothing comes from traditional publishing, maybe self publishing will be our answer.

  • Sandra says:

    What a spot-on piece. I so enjoyed the content and the heart that you put in your words. When I wrote the first draft of my memoir, it was 550 pages. In that, I found my 220 page book. I wish you the best.

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Thank you, Sandra, for sharing your revision story. In my experience the first half of life is additive (aka nest building) and the second half is about letting go–of people, stuff and our beloved words–all about emptying the nest. So I guess this word diet was perfect for someone my age. I am sure your 220 page book is fabulous. Thank you for your kind words. Margaret

  • Beth Kephart says:

    I am so very proud of you, Peggy Mandell. Congratulations on this piece, and on your right-sized book. Woot. (No nope.)

    • Margaret Mandell says:

      Thank you so much, Beth. And to all of you gorgeous writers out there in Brevity Blog land (to paraphrase Maya Angelou), do have the courage to trust your editors one more time, and always one more time.

  • Gary says:

    Sounds like you had a good, no. a great coach and what’s more important is how you were able to condense and clarify to become a compelling writer. Congratulations!

    • Margaret mandell says:

      Gary, at the risk of stating the obvious, we’re only as good as our coaches, editors, mentors. I could go on…we stand on the shoulders of giants….I’m sure you agree. Thanks for your kind words! Margaret

  • lgrizzo says:

    Great advice that I plan to follow as I dig back into my memoir figuring out what I need to shed.

    • Good luck to you, Lgrizzo! I found it helpful to think of writing memoir as an accordian. It expands and contracts. You add stuff, you take away stuff. Write write write. Delete delete delete. Deleting gets easier over time, I think.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading How I Lost 265,000 Words in Two Years at The Brevity Blog.

meta