In Favor of Clicking the Submit Button Too Soon

April 24, 2023 § 31 Comments

By Kate Langenberg

It was a fairly straightforward challenge: write an essay of no more than 500 words about a vacation gone wrong.

I hadn’t been looking to enter a contest about travel writing. I was just reading the news online like I do every morning and happened to click on the book club section where I found the call for submissions. I laughed a little as I remembered the mishaps my husband and I had had on our honeymoon.

Being adventurous and thinking we were invincible, we had rented a car and driven through northern Italy. The rental, a standard-issue Fiat with front-wheel drive, might have worked out great had we intended to stick to highways and main roads, but that would have been boring, and we were not boring people. Main roads were for tourists who didn’t like to veer off the beaten path. We were determined to veer—which we did, straight into a giant pothole on a dirt-covered, boulder-strewn road that swallowed one of our tires and left our rental car—and our ability to travel to our next destination—in a precarious state.

I whipped up an essay about that experience almost fifteen summers ago: how we ended up with a flat tire that was completely unfixable, and how we had to drive around with a donut recommended for a very limited number of kilometers at low speed. It was a ridiculous situation, considering we were scheduled to drive to Florence in a few days to catch a train heading south. The route to the city—the entire country, really—was full of winding, hilly roads populated by drivers familiar with the terrain and eager to speed through it.

We scrapped our plans, including our day trip to Siena, and made the best of staying close to our Greve hotel, which ended up being a wise and relaxing choice. 

I wrote the essay in the span of an afternoon. I stepped away to walk my dog, returning an hour later to review my word choices and word count and to shorten a few paragraphs. It was a little long, but I liked the story, and I figured if a matter of 100 words would keep the website from publishing it, then it wasn’t meant to be. This was me choosing not to overthink it. I plugged the text into the submission form and sent it off.

Which is exactly what all the advice about writing and editing tells you not to do.

What you’re supposed to do is sit on anything you write and come back to it days, maybe weeks, later. You’re supposed to show it to other people, seek feedback, and not let your eyes be the only ones to read it. You’re supposed to find flaws that you’ll be glad to catch before the people wielding the gavels look it over.

Or, you could trust your gut.

You could listen to the little voice inside your head that tells you what you’ve written is good, and on that instinct, you could hit the submit button without obsessing for days or weeks over a few hundred words.

Of course, this approach might not make sense for every type of essay or piece of writing you create. Some pieces need to marinate; some need more time to come together. But when you have a story that flows easily from mind to page in your signature voice, it might be worth trusting your intuition that it’s good enough to submit because it came together in just a few hours.

As a chronic overthinker, this is not my usual process. I’m one of the people who does spend days and weeks editing and rewriting. I read sentences out loud to my husband, asking him which versions sound better. Sometimes it’s the most minor changes that leave me riddled with indecision.

I wonder, often, how much is too much time spent perfecting my writing? Am I perfecting it for myself or for someone else? The conclusion I frequently reach is that I’m doing it for someone else. It’s more difficult to discern what might appeal to other people, and that’s why my second drafts take so much time. There’s much less guesswork involved when I allow my voice to remain clear and strong instead of pushing it to the verge of something unrecognizable.

I was delighted to learn my essay had been chosen for publication. Trusting my instincts had been the right decision. The essay had come to me readily, and instead of second-guessing myself, I took a chance. I did what felt natural. I veered off the beaten path, hit submit, and this time I didn’t get swallowed by a giant pothole.

___

Kate Langenberg is a writer with a background in trade nonfiction book publishing, journal publishing, and marketing communications. Her essay, La Dolce Fiat, was recently published on Boston.com. She lives in Powder Valley, Pennsylvania. Read more on her website.

Tagged: , ,

§ 31 Responses to In Favor of Clicking the Submit Button Too Soon

  • MarinaSofia says:

    I’ve had some of my best successes (not huge ones, but even little ones count) with spur of the moment writing and instantly submitting, while others that I’ve laboured over for ages never find a home. On the whole, however, I think that those works that have undergone multiple edits are better, stronger, tighter though…

  • clpauwels says:

    I relate to the thought process – and love the words that flow freely! – but if a contest win is your goal, exceeding the word count is often an automatic disqualification. Choose your outlets carefully.

  • Great piece . Writing is supposed to be fun! ( Sort of) And an individual, not a group effort, akin to a theatrical production.. And hurray for you for defying the “mandatory” word count.

  • Amanda Le Rougetel says:

    I have hit SEND quickly, and almost immediately regretted it. I have hit SEND quickly and ended up with a published piece. And I have hit SEND only after some time away from the piece and some well crafted revisions. What’s important, I think, is that we keep writing and keep hitting SEND. Regardless.

  • As an over-thinker and over-editor-er, I relate. Loved this. Thank you for the good read and good reminder.

  • Linda M Romanowski says:

    Hi, Kate! I never know what’s going to catch my attention, but this little gem did. I understand completely where you are coming from. I think it’s a matter of trusting yourself. You cannot overthink what you write. You cannot overthink how the reader will think. It really is a matter of trust in both parties. I also use the word “marinate” when it comes to submissions. There have been times when I was awakened in the middle of the night by an idea. Grabbing my bedside notepad to catch that fleeting thought made the difference. Good luck to you! Thank you for sharing this.

    • Kate says:

      Hello, Linda! Yes, having trust in yourself and in the reader are both so important. Sometimes it’s easier said than done, but as you mentioned, capturing those little lightning strikes of clarity can make all the difference.

  • Jan Wilberg says:

    Sometimes how the words fly on to the page is just right. And it’s impossible to predict when that will happen (not always). Key rule of my writing is that nothing beats a really good story and it sounds like yours was just that.

    • Kate says:

      When the words fly, sometimes they truly sing! I’m learning to embrace it when it happens and to trust myself to hear the song.

  • What a fun piece! The little voice in my head is generally right—and screaming not yet, not yet, not yet! But like you, Kate, sometimes I just skim right along and get where I am going, decide it’s good enough, send the work off with a shrug, and Bingo! Publication. It’s happened to me recently. Twice.

  • I know this feeling! Thank you for sharing this not very popular form of writing and publishing! We writers should trust our instinct and have confidence that we know a good one when we write one. I did something similar recently and it too will be published!!!

  • Sandra says:

    The one time I wrote quickly and pushed submit, my essay won a contest with Glamour magazine and was turned into a short film starring Kerry Washington. There are definitely exceptions to the “go back and edit” rule. Great piece.

  • I loved this piece. Thank you.

  • BJ says:

    thank you for this! I often submit too quickly but sometimes it pays off.

  • I love the piece. Funny to read it now, when I hit “submit” on my first query to an agent about my first book just a few hours ago, and surely did so without having run it or the book by enough people and through enough drafts and… so on. Sometimes, you just have to or you’ll never. (I think.)

    • Kate says:

      It is all too easy to get stuck in a cycle of thinking that a project isn’t good enough yet. At some point, you must decide that it is.

  • campanaconstancewheatoncollegeedu says:

    Way to go! I’ve been learning to do this and for me, it’s incredibly hard. But, I had the same thing happen. The experience really made me think! Or rethink.

    • Kate says:

      It’s hard learning to trust your instincts. Like you, the experience made me do some rethinking (but hopefully not overthinking!).

  • ivrking87 says:

    We rethink that over experience made some.

  • will smith says:

    Your article has been incredibly helpful to me. Thank you for sharing your expertise in such a clear and concise way.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Favor of Clicking the Submit Button Too Soon at The Brevity Blog.

meta