Inclusivity Isn’t Simple

August 7, 2023 § 18 Comments

By Deborah Sosin

In the face of right-wing attacks on diversity, many progressive writers, including me, are doubling down on our use of respectful and sensitive language. But for those of us who value inclusivity, navigating the rapidly changing landscape of “correct” language is increasingly anxiety-provoking.

What’s the proper pronoun? What’s the appropriate demographic label?

One misstep into this minefield and boom, even the most well-meaning writers are criticized, ostracized, or canceled altogether.

In June, I sent in final edits on a self-help workbook for people in recovery from drug and alcohol addiction, or the now-preferred term, “substance use disorders” (I use these words interchangeably here). My book features short exercises such as “Noticing Your Urges and Cravings,” “Reasons Not to Use,” “Reexamining Your Relationships,” and “What Are Your Triggers?”

When I began, I thought creating case vignettes would be the most fun part of the process. As a nonfiction writer, I never get to make stuff up. Now I could play in the fiction playground by adapting and disguising real-life scenarios drawn from my 20 years of clinical work in the addiction field. In each 100-word (or so) profile, my goal was to present some bare-bones demographics and connect the story to its accompanying exercise.

Among the 45 vignettes, I wanted to cover a spectrum of age, substance of choice, sexual orientation, gender identity, race, and ethnicity. I’d vary references to relationship status and socioeconomic standing as needed.

I sought to show diversity among these categories because addiction, as we know, or should know, crosses all sociological boundaries. And as a white (note lowercase “w”) cisgender heterosexual single senior Jewish woman (!), I felt a responsibility to expand the conversation beyond my own identities and communities.

But with such a tight word count, I had little room for elaboration, much less nuance. And, as you can imagine, writing about people in recovery is already fraught, demanding careful word choice to avoid stigma or judgment.   

First up: Age range. No problem. My vignettes spanned the decades from teens to elders, though I had to be mindful of the sad fact that we rarely find people with an active opioid use disorder who live into their forties or fifties.

Substance of choice? Not hard to spread out the alcohol, cocaine, marijuana, Ecstasy, benzodiazepines, opioids, narcotics, and so on.

For sexual orientation, I could refer to “Jennifer and her wife” or “Hakeem and his boyfriend.” Not long ago, those choices in a general-audience self-help book might have raised a few biased eyebrows. I hope that, in our current culture, identifying LGBTQ+ (itself an evolving designation) characters can finally register without a blip.

For gender identity, representation matters too. I wrote a mix of male and female characters as well as the fictional “Jamie,” who identifies as neither male nor female. I’ve worked with nonbinary clients who have told me they felt “different” in the recovery community, partly because of its historical use of gender-based designations. However, programs like Alcoholics Anonymous have begun to address gender identity more openly, promoting gender-neutral pronouns and other inclusive terminology.

Now, what about my characters’ race and ethnicity? I suppose I could simply have labeled each person’s category, but doing so seemed inelegant and potentially distracting, not to mention reductive. Plus, certain terms are hotly contested (e.g., “Latino/a” vs. “Latinx” or “Native American” vs. “Indigenous”). I wanted to use some names that could be considered “neutral” and others that might safely signal “person of color,” inviting nonwhite (another charged word) readers to feel seen and represented while, ideally, avoiding stereotypes.

I grappled with this dilemma by approaching it through my own ethnic lens. For instance, if an identifiably non-Jewish author in a hypothetically loaded literary context used the Jewish-associated names “Shlomo” or “Golda,” say, would I be offended? Possibly. What Jewish-associated names would pass my personal muster? Esther? Joshua? Rachel? Ezra?

Oy! No easy answers.

More tricky territory: Which substance-related scenario to pair with which characters without offending? I could risk having “John” abandon his children as a result of alcohol use but likely not “Juan.” Maybe “Carol” could struggle with cocaine but not “Carmela.” And “Linda” but not “Leilani” could steal Percocet from her grandfather’s medicine cabinet.

In creating a character with an arrest record for marijuana possession, I faced an even more nuanced dilemma: a white-associated name like “Doug” might be safer than “Dewayne,” which to culturally trained ears is arguably more “Black-associated.” But—and here’s the sad, paradoxical truth—because of clear racial bias in our criminal justice system, a real-world “Dewayne” would be far more apt to have a drug arrest record than a “Doug.” So, would choosing the name “Dewayne” be conceding a painful reality or imputing a racist stereotype?

You see the problem.

I’m just an author-clinician with no agenda except to educate and inform—and, hopefully, do no harm. But might my honest efforts at inclusivity be perceived as mere tokenism? By what standard is acceptability measured and by whom?

As a final check before submitting my book manuscript, I created a separate document to compare all the vignettes and solicited sensitivity readers in my network, who gave me the thumbs-up.

In the end, all I can do is commit to examining my own biases, stay open to learning, and continue to give it my best shot. Given our culture’s ever-evolving linguistic conventions, there can be no perfect way to keep up—and maybe, in attempting to do so, we risk perpetuating the very harms we hope to avoid. But wouldn’t it be worse not to try?  

___

Deborah Sosin, LICSW, is a Boston-based writer, editor, clinical social worker, and GrubStreet instructor. She is the author of The Sober Starting Today Workbook: Powerful Mindfulness and CBT Tools to Help You Break Free from Addiction (New Harbinger Publications, March 2024). Debbie specialized in addictions as a staff therapist at Sameem Associates and was a clinical supervisor at North Charles Institute for the Addictions, both in the Boston area. Her essays have appeared in The New York Times, Boston Globe Magazine, Brevity Blog, Salon, Cognoscenti, The Writer’s Chronicle, the Chicken Soup for the Soul series, and elsewhere. Her mindfulness-themed picture book, Charlotte and the Quiet Place, illustrated by Sara Woolley (Parallax Press, 2015), won several awards. She has an MFA in Creative Writing from Lesley University and an MSW from Smith College School for Social Work. She regularly offers “Write It Like It Is” freewriting groups on Zoom. Read more on Debbie’s website.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 18 Responses to Inclusivity Isn’t Simple

  • “You see the problem.” Oh, my, yes. I recently reviewed a story collection, a fine collection, and wondered whether to address the demographics of the story. I found variation in gender identity and sexual orientation, but the characters were all white and mostly the age of the author. Every single one. Do I add that observation to my review? Is it fair for me to criticize a fiction writer for basing her characters on her own demographic? I know writers who avoid stepping too far away from who they are, fearful of getting things wrong. You did everything you could to get things right—applause from me!

  • Deborah Sosin says:

    Thanks for your comment, Jan. That means a lot! What a difficult dilemma you pose. What did you end up doing?

    • I did not mention race in my review at all because the author is young and from a “whiter” state than my own. (She wrote about people she knows best. I am considering looking for her online and writing to her.) In my own fiction, characters come from diverse backgrounds because those are the people I know and love. When I included a pious climate refugee in my novel, I found a Muslim reader to assure I had been accurate and respectful. It matters to get it right. There is still a risk, but the alternative is an artificially narrow world.

  • Deborah Sosin says:

    Exactly, Jan. Well said!

  • Judy Reeves says:

    Thanks for this excellent post spelling out all the complexities and dilemmas we writers face today in approaching inclusivity and sensitivity and getting it right, which we want to do. These days I don’t even know what labels to use for identifying myself. Sometimes I wish “human” were enough.

    • Deborah Sosin says:

      Thanks so much, Judy. I know what you mean about labeling ourselves. I’m guessing “human” probably wouldn’t fly in some circles because of the “man” part… can’t win, eh? “Sentient being”?!

  • Andrea Penner says:

    Please follow-up with a post after your book has been published and you’ve received reviews/reactions. I’m interested in knowing how this all plays out with readers, both professionals and clients.

    • Deborah Sosin says:

      Oh, thanks for the suggestion, Andrea! Yes, I’m curious to see if the vignettes draw any attention at all. My hope/wish/prayer is that they’re integrated into the overall exercises in a holistic way.

  • jwschlack says:

    Thanks for this useful, multi-faceted look at the considerations and choices.

  • Rose says:

    You sound like a very kind compassionate person. I suppose this type of writing is needed now, but to me, it sounds like you are turning yourself inside out to meet every possible requirement, every possible viewpoint. You are walking across a minefield with every word you write. I wonder if this is even possible, as it is not within the range of human capacity, to be all seeing, all knowing.

    • Deborah Sosin says:

      Thanks for your comment, Rose! Yes, you understand the dilemma exactly. I’m hoping that the essay points out the futility of trying to be all seeing and all knowing. And I’m hoping also to point out that we must at least try to be aware and sensitive even if we fail sometimes.

      • Rose says:

        Thank you for your reply. I think of the old adage: to try to please everyone, you end up pleasing no one.

  • Deborah Sosin says:

    Ah, I will remember that one. Thanks!

  • Sandra says:

    Thank you for these insights. It is certainly a time to pause and consider how to be inclusive and respectful.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inclusivity Isn’t Simple at The Brevity Blog.

meta